Wassamonkey
30 Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Wassamonkey
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a traveler, a cook, a gamer, a gentleman and a recreational athlete who recently moved to Seattle.

I grew up in England (no accent, sorry), traveled through Europe, and I have been working on seeing as much of the US as I can. I would love to see Japan, Australia, and Egypt, as well as many other places.
I will try to cook anything at least once. My favorite kinds of food to cook are Thai and Sushi, but I can usually whip up something for any occasion.
I play just about any kind of game you can think of. I have played Table-top games like Dungeons and Dragons, I occasionally play card games like Magic:The Gathering, and I play board games and video games.
I was raised with the idea of "Be Excellent to each other". I hold the door open for others, I offer to pay for dinner or activities (friends or otherwise makes no difference), I offer my coat if I see a friend who is cold.
I try to stay as active as possible, mostly through walking around the Seattle area while listening to audiobooks or podcasts. I love a good game of frisbee or soccer, or any other sport for that matter (I played hockey in school and have been known to play rugby and dodgeball in the past).
What I’m doing with my life
I work as a systems admin and that takes up a good deal of my time. Free time usually goes to activities with friends, walking around town or just staying home and trying to clear my head.
I hope to move up to move up my field, and have been taking computer certifications to such an end.
Bars and clubs are not typically on my list of places to be, but I have been known to be dragged to them to keep a friend company or such, so that leaves a bit more of my nights free.
I’m really good at
Putting a smile on the faces of those I care about.
Listening to others and helping them with their problems.
Taking apart electronics and (mostly) putting them back together.
Figuring out how to make something I have eaten.
The first things people usually notice about me
Physically? I have been told my whole life that I have giant doe eyes. I also look very young (facial hair helps this).
Personality-wise? I have been told I have a very vivid presence, that I am not the kind of person who is easily forgotten.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books - Anything. I have read just about every Sci-fi or fantasy series you can come up with, but I am always looking for suggestions. My favorite books are... Brandon Sanderson's Mistborn series, Terry Pratchett's Discworld series, Vonnegut's Cat's Cradle, Diana Wynne Jones' Chrestomanci Series and the Romance of the Three Kingdoms.

Movies - I like movies that make you think, or ones that allow you to turn your brain completely off. I range from Primer to Spaceballs and everything in between. I also know every word to Aladdin. My favorite movie is probably Serenity.

Shows - I do not watch much TV. I have not had cable in years, and pretty much rely on Netflix and Hulu to keep up with the shows I actually care about. When I do watch shows, I seem to prefer the ones that get cancelled quickly (Jericho, The Cape, Firefly, etc) though I am enjoying Game of Thrones quite a bit at the moment.

Music - Most of my time with headphones in my ears is taken up with audiobooks. When I do listen to music, I prefer the likes of Journey, Chopin, Billy Joel, Nobuo Uematsu, the Beatles and Muse. My favorite music to listen to is Meatloaf (blame my parents, I was raised on it!)

Food - I enjoy just about all foods and will try anything at least once. Favorites include most Asian cuisine, crumpets and jam, and anything with buffalo sauce... the spicier the better.

Video Games - Video games have been prevalent in my life for as long as I can remember. I am a card carrying member of the "Video Games can be Art" camp. My favorite games are: Old-school RPGs (Final Fantasy, Chrono Trigger, Suikoden series, Legend of Zelda, etc...), Modern pseudo-RPGs (Bioshock, Borderlands, Fallout/Elder Scrolls, etc...), Smash Brothers (any), and I will take any challenger at Mario Kart or DDR.
The six things I could never do without
1) Internet access - I am a computer geek. I need to be connected at all times or I deflate.
2) A book - Audio-, E- or physical, it doesn't matter... just something I can use to keep my mind active.
3) Friends - I am a social person who lives alone, so I rely on my friends to stop me from going crazy.
4) My Crockpot - Follows on from 3. I often bring food over to friend's places and I have yet to find a better method of moving and reheating food than a good crockpot.
5) My Cat, Cecil - When I am at home alone, my crazy cat Cecil keeps me company.
6) A nice coat - While I love these 40-50 degree, foggy days out here. I enjoy them more when wearing a fancy coat with lots of inside pockets. I grade my coats entirely on the number and quality of inside pockets.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The rate of technological advance in the past 20 years and what will be around in my lifetime.
What I would do in different post-apocalyptic scenarios (Nuclear, zombies, Robot Attack, Alien Invasion, etc...)
How many licks it takes to get to the Tootsie Roll center of a Tootsie Pop.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either over at a friend's place watching a movie or playing games.
Out on an extended walk through the downtown area.
At a coffee house or other public area talking to people and playing board games.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have 2 webbed toes.
You should message me if
You want to discuss books/games/pretty much anything.
You want to join me for a long walk, cup of tea, or just pleasant conversation.
You want to compare zombie apocalypse plans.
You are aware that time is just timey-wimey, wibbly-wobbly... stuff.

I am not the kind of guy to be put off because a lady made the first move.
More