51 Federal Way, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a transplanted, university-educated midwesterner with roots in Ohio and Missouri. My interests include movies, museums, animals, reading, writing, fishing, target shooting, and table top games. Central to my life are my critters: a youthful and handsome mixed breed hound (in one of the photos) and two friendly tabby cats who have entered their senior years. My hope is to get travel reasonably soon, but I do not wish to do so alone. Of special interest is London (especially the British Museum) and the various archaeological wonders of the Yucatán. I am an open, rational, lucid, tolerant person who strives to expand his knowledge every day.

I am fortunate to have secure employment in a field that I enjoy and find rewarding. My job is enhanced by co-workers and supervisors who I greatly respect.

Physically, I am 5' 11" and 200 lbs. I have never smoked, consumed alcohol, or otherwise used or abused chemicals.

Politically, I am genuinely a moderate. I do not identify with any political party. This does not mean I have no political views. I have very specific and usually strong opinions on most major issues. When it comes to faith, I am definitely not religious, but I am tolerant of the views of others.

Courtesy of my parents, I have a streak of old-fashioned manners built into my character. I will hold doors, speak with courtesy and respect, and treat you the way you deserve to be treated. Our time together should and must be filled with enjoyment, not drama and stress. If we hit it off, I tend to provide detailed communications, be it in emails or in person. I am, or at least try to be, frank yet sensitive.

I am seeking an irreverent, kind, and affectionate lady with whom to share my life. Friendship and mutual respect are key elements. My ideal life partner should be informed, have opinions, and be willing to express them, as I will with mine. We should have some interests in common, but you should also have your own that you are willing to share with me. Should you want to share adventures and try new things, I want to hear from you.

My principal life goal has long eluded me. This is a healthy family life with a decent lady. I am looking for the One and definitely want children.
What I’m doing with my life
I am currently working to enhance my career. I also plan on moving to a new house sometime later this year or in 2015.
I’m really good at
I was once a full time writer and can still assemble sentences reasonably well. I have a good knowledge of history and politics due to my education and personal interests. In recent years, I've worked to expand my knowledge of science, especially astronomy/astrophysics, though I make no claims at having expertise.
The first things people usually notice about me
That is for you to decide.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite books: The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien and Dracula by Bram Stoker.

Favorite short story: Murgunstrumm by Hugh B. Cave.

Favorite writers: Richard Matheson, Lewis Spence, J.R.R. Tolkien.

Favorite movies: The Adventures of Robin Hood (1938), Casablanca (1942), The Colditz Story (1955), Fright Night (1985), The Invisible Man (1933), Kelly's Heroes (1970), The Lord of the Rings series (2001-2003), The Mark of Zorro (1940), Monty Python and the Holy Grail (1975), The Night Stalker (1972), The Outlaw Josey Wales (1976), Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981), The Searchers (1956), The Thing from Another World (1951), The Three Musketeers (1973) and its sequel The Four Musketeers (1974), The Wind and the Lion (1975).

Favorite television series: The Adventures of Brisco County Jr., Barney Miller, The Colbert Report, Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe, Mythbusters, Kolchak: The Night Stalker, Nova, Soap, The Wild, Wild West.

Favorite music: classical (Beethoven, Wagner), symphonic metal (After Forever, Delain, Epica, Nightwish), rock and Top 40 (Amaranthe, Evanescence, Rush), New Age (Enya, Loreena McKennitt, Mannheim Steamroller), film soundtracks (Jerry Goldsmith, James Horner).

Favorite artist: Frederick Catherwood.

Favorite food: basically I'm a "meat and potatoes" kind of person though I like a lot of international food.
The six things I could never do without
My health, my critters, my friends, my library of books and DVDs, and one personal (not weird) thing you can learn about later. The sixth should be the lady I'm hoping to find. Perhaps here.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Politics, personal improvement, learning and knowledge (especially in history, archæology, geography, and astrophysics), finding a life partner, and making my critters happy.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually working. However, on my "weekend", which is during the week, I am usually reading, writing, enjoying a film, with friends, or with my critters.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
There's not really much that is private about me though I don't advertise or flaunt my lack of religious beliefs.
You should message me if
If you find me interesting, give me a chance and contact me. I will reply unless I have some reason to believe you are a scammer. Be warned, after the first exchange or two, I tend to provide detailed messages though there are a few subjects (nothing strange) I will likely not discuss in depth until I have met you. I'm looking for a relationship that develops into marriage and children. If you are also, please send me a message.

Please note that I currently have a basic subscription. Quickmatch or other "A list" functions will not work with my account so I won't know if you "liked" me. Regular messaging is the way to go.