28Watertown, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Aight, time for a 100% revision of this thing.

I'm a recently certified English teacher back to the grind selling mattresses post-graduation whilst I search for that perfect job opportunity. I'm a lover of kids with a small, fractured family back home, one I love but would love to be able to make more complete.

I enjoy the typical things: coffee, hiking, the gym, wine and drinks, video games; I also have some more mundane interests, like programming, people-watching, and spending money on Amazon and Newegg.

If I had a shard of glass, I'd take that shard and draw my deepest, darkest secrets in the snow. I'd write out my fears, my dislikes, my worries. I'd make a montage of emotions and memories, digging deeper and deeper into the snow to create mountains and valleys, highs and lows of the past 25 years. I'd sharpen that smoothing shard until I would be able to create every detail with precision. Finally, when I'm finished, and before anybody could see, I'd call the sun and have it melt the snow away.

I hate the winter.

I like doing things, and I also like, you know, not. I'm an introverted extrovert; I like being around people but also have a limit for how much I can take before I need my own space. That's something that's pretty important to me, I guess. Space. I'm not a partier - I don't like clubs, I don't enjoy hosting house parties. I do like to mingle though - give me a few drinks at a house party (not one that I'm hosting) and I enjoy myself immensely and am quick to make friends.

I'm a feminist, a humanist, a liberal and a conservative, a dishwasher to an overseer; I talk to security guards and cafeteria ladies and get to know them, just as much as I talk to those up high in administrative positions, and I appreciate them just as much. I don't agree with that OKCupid question, "should people with lower IQs be allowed to reproduce?" because I've seen so many good people with low IQs in the world, and I've seen a lot of horrible, low IQ'd people reproduce and create these kids who strive to be better than their parents, as in fact, most of us try to do anyway.

I believe in the good in people. I don't put a lot of weight on material possessions. I fear those who follow without question, who obey for no other reason than "I told you so."

Aight, so this is just a random ass summary to overwrite the old one. Want to know anything more? Ask!

PS - I used to put a lot of weight into those OKCupid scoring questions. The thing about those is that when you answer them 10 years ago, and you revisit them to compare them to others' answers, you see that you change your answers, because 10-years-ago-you answered things differently than how you feel today. So, if you're a person who puts a lot of weight into those questions, especially certain types of questions, don't. Just ask :)
I’m really good at
Figuring you out.
The first things people usually notice about me
Usually, my smile is what I've heard people seem to like, although personally I think it needs some work.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love books, but lately it's been whatever fits into my syllabuses for school. I try to read a book a week. The latest books I've read are Golden Son [Pierce Brown], Firefight [Brandon Sanderson], Fear the Sky [don'tremembernotimportant] and Better Off Friends [Elizabeth Eulberg]. I've just read Wonder, Of Mice and Men (I know, I know, I should have read that years ago) and I'm currently listening to the Serial series, which is pretty neat to listen to.

Movies: I'm not a huge movie person.

Music: I'm a country boy at heart. I listen to pop and some rock stuff too, but really... it's country.

Food: I like most generic foods at restaurants: anything with chicken, pastas of all sorts, pizzas, salads, basically all fruit, etc. I'll try new stuff if you want me to. I won't go out of my way to order something new off a menu though.
Six things I could never do without
or else, what? I'd die? I'd go crazy?

How about the six things I need to be happy? I don't have all of them, but here they are:
1. A sense of family.
2. Financial stability.
3. A family unit.
4. Friends who truly know me, and vice versa.
5. Water & coffee.
6. A relationship with a person.

That last one sounds like I'm a hopeless romantic, but I'm totally the opposite. I've just never found that one man who knows me inside and out and who knows right from wrong.

And, after re-reading this whole profile, if there was a 7th option, I believe it would say "Commas."
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Pedagogies to apply to my teaching and coffee.
On a typical Friday night I am
Indoors during the winter, and during the summer, outside reading a book, maybe going to play poker, maybe at a casino, or perhaps sitting around a bonfire talking about nostalgia and possibilities.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I hate bar soap.
You should message me if
you read a little of my profile or if you have an actual interest in holding a conversation that is substantial.

If you want to meet up for a cup of coffee or a drink and don't want to have endless back and forth. If you care about your health and your body. If you don't smoke. And finally, if you think you can enjoy intense conversations alongside those that are more mundane.
The two of us