WindySeattle
42Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
WindySeattle
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an adventurous, open-minded, easy-going guy. I work in high-tech, but you'll find me an odd kind of geek: I enjoy motorcycle riding, traveling the globe, and the outdoors. I live along the shore of the ocean and the salt water runs through my veins.

My day job is I am a professor at UW in the engineering school. I spend about a third of my time spinning tales to undergraduates about circuits and bits, a third working with graduate students imparting a zest for life, and a third handling.. err, BS. Somewhere in there I'm supposed to actually think for a living, but fortunately my graduate student's can do most of that for me :)

A bit more about me:

* I have two amazing children, and I'm lovingly co-parenting them (50/50) with their terrific mom who is still my best friend despite our separation.
* Despite being in tech, I'm not addicted to my iphone. I could take it or leave it.
* I try to cross the country on my motorcycle every other year for fun.
* I’m on track for 50K miles in the air this year. I routinely travel to the UK, Europe, the Middle-east and Asia. I keep a folder of subway passes, SIM cards, and currencies for many spots on the globe and usually travel with no luggage and no reservations.
* I’ve owned and sailed offshore a couple boats before. I’ve sent one to davy jones locker. Presently I own a commercial crabbing boat (future plans) and assorted small craft.
* I love the cold wind of the PNW.
* I chop wood for pleasure. It washes up everywhere on my beach, so why not.
* I'm poly. And I'd prefer to date women who are poly and/or OK with open relationships.That being said, to me, poly does not mean casual. I prefer meaningful long term relationships with all of the love and support you would find in a monogamous deeply partnered relationship; I just don't believe loving one person for your whole life is a model for the human species.
What I’m doing with my life
Currently I am busy raising my beautiful young daughter and son. I also spend far too much time on an airplane (when the flight crew recognizes you when you step on the plane, well, then you know you are spending too much time with them).
I’m really good at
I'm pretty good at letting bad memories fade and finding the silver lining in any situation. I have a gallows and sarcastic sense of humor that isn't always funny. In my day job, my chief task is to ask questions that make you question your assumptions about reality.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
* I'm really into music and I like a very wide range. From very early folk/country to punk to pop.
* I don't own a TV and haven't for years.
* I know next to nothing about sports, but my daughter loves the Seahawks so I try and be a good dad and watch the games with her :)
* I am a foodie and a locavore. I enjoy a very fine meal out or in. I also love hole-in-the-wall places and street food. I am an adventurous eater, and will consume anything. I raise oysters on my beach, am raising a pig, butcher my own venison, and will be raising some fryer chickens this year. I give a damn about food.
* For books, my all time favorites would be Catch-22, because it always confuses and explains me; 1984 because I feel like I'm living in it; and Air Kissing in the Northeast, which defines my childhood. I have been slowly working on writing a not quite sequel, sequel to Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.
Six things I could never do without
Love, Music, the Wind, the Ocean, a lingering sunset spent sharing a beer among friends, my motorcycle (I know you are like huh? But yeah,...)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My dent in the universe...
On a typical Friday night I am
On my beach having a beer. Talking to my daughter about whales and fish and stars and spirits and the wind and why we are the way we are. Or talking to my son about trucks and fire and tractors and snacks. I wouldn't trade those moments for anything.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I work (toil?) in a professional position that requires me to be "out there" and "on performance" all the time. Yet ironically, I was born shy.
You should message me if
I'm open to a lot of different forms of relationship right now. Whether that's a meaningful, long term love (my default) or something infrequent and connecting. I tend to let relationships find their level and don't have a lot of expectations about it.
More
The two of us
--
Lifestyle
--
Sex
--
Dating
--
Other
--
Ethics
--
Religion