37Traverse City, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary

I have a strong desire to connect with people. I am a teacher and enjoy having meaningful conversations and connecting with my students. It has been some time since I have been able to connect with an adult beyond the scope of work or casual acquaintances. I am laid back and easy going. I enjoy intellectual conversation and would love to just go get a coffee or a beer and get to know somebody new.

I have two sons, ages 5 and 7. They are brilliant and rambunctious and they mean the world to me. I am not looking for someone to be involved in their live's, but if you have kids of similar age(s) we could surely have a play date someday :-)

I play guitar and I am passionate about music. I love most all kinds of music but have a slight distaste for some. I am an avid NPR listener, but sometimes I need to tune it out and enjoy my own life instead of worry about the sometimes frustrating state of our world. I enjoy hiking, snowshoeing, disc golf, and anything that gets me out into the woods. I love trees and have been known to hug them :-) Fall and winter are my favorite seasons as I absolutely love cuddling up on the couch to get warm and watching a flick or reading National Geographic. My other passions are science, math and technology, but I usually get enough of all that at work (except science, I can't get enough of that).

I believe in coincidence and I know that timing is important. In the past I think I have missed a lot of moments that I let pass me by, and I am tired of letting that happen. If you feel inspired in any way, go with it and do what you want.
What I’m doing with my life
I am happy to be teaching still! I am in a unique position where I have lots of freedom and responsibility. I enjoy the challenges I face each day, and marvel at the accomplishments of my students and my school.
I’m really good at
Foot rubs, shoulder rubs, splitting wood, making fires, playing guitar, playing disc golf, math, sudoku, mucking around with software and gadgets, and bicycling.
The first things people usually notice about me
My blue eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I love most books by Vonnegut, favorite is Slapstick or Lonesome No More. Siddhartha also a favorite b/c it's short :-) Celestine Prophecy, Ishmael, Einstein's papers on Relativity and anything by Richard Feynman.

Movies: Fifth Element, Manhattan, Monty Python's Meaning of Life, High Fidelity, Hitchhiker's Guide (also a fan of the books), Eternal Sunshine, Wes Anderson films (fave is The Royal Tenenbaums), Charlie Kaufman films (Adaptation) and Magnolia.

Music: Weezer, Pink Floyd, The Doors, Jack Johnson, I enjoy most indie rock, funk or punk with a good beat, folk that tells a good story, or jazz that gets me lost in a moment. Country rarely excites me, but it is fun to perform.

Food: Sandwiches.
Six things I could never do without
My family
My phone
My hammock
I spend a lot of time thinking about
On a typical Friday night I am
There is no typical Friday night in my life... Our staff meetings are fun, but those happen on Wednesday. If I could have a regular Friday night thing I would go play darts and pool with good buddies.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Is already somewhere in this profile. See if you can find it :-)
You should message me if
You would like to chat with me.
The two of us