51 San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Under Construction. (And back on the market.)
What I’m doing with my life
Under Construction. (Getting to it.)
I’m really good at
*Lifting really heavy weights.
*Surviving through adversity.
*Staying up later than anyone you've ever met; I beat the owls at their own game.
*Working a crowd, particularly vocationally, though I've been known to hold court now and again off the clock as well.
*Snappy verbal and written communication: Expressing myself.
*Practicing chivalry and male (largely sexual) dominance through a Feminist lens. Allowing you, should you be so inclined, to express your femininity and sexual submissiveness, without the thought that it makes you "less than" in any way, shape or form, even occurring to me.
*Mastery of the female nether regions.
*Discerning what I think is uniquely attractive and inspirational about you and making sure I keep you well-apprised of my admiration.
*Profoundly empathizing with the pain of your menstrual cramps better than any other dude in the history of man.
*Keeping you laughing, should the stars so align.
*Driving: One-half million miles; zero accidents, zero points.
*Teaching, whether in a classroom, in a workshop or to anyone willing to sit down and let me prattle on.
*Helping you get through it: Being there.
*Setting unconventional priorities.
*Doing the right thing.
*Intellectual discourse.
*Coping with my tendency toward Terminal Uniqueness.
The first things people usually notice about me
*My Midwestern warmth and friendliness.
*My acrobatic eyebrows.
*The people seem to think I look and seem considerably younger than the story the calendar tells. You be the judge.
*The profoundly honest expressiveness of my face; my features can tell no tales.
*My oft-changed facial hair configurations: Facial hair is makeup for men.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Under Construction. (Soon, I'm telling you.)
The six things I could never do without
Jamie & Titus, my fabulous Maine Coon Mixes. (Animal lovers only need respond. Don't hate on the kittycats and the men who love them.)

A laptop with Internet access. (I'm a major research geek and I let whatever interests me direct my studies.)

My SUV. (I know The City like nobody's business.)

The English language. (I'm a massive lexicologist. I'm a professional writer and I live for words: Nuance, explication, subtlety, signification, killer vocabularies, WIT, and yes, grammar. Verbal acuity and dry humor get me hot--try me.)

Friends & Family. (Yeah, I'm a mama's boy, I'm not going to lie to you. But fret not, she's sweet as pie and lives 2700 miles away.)

San Francisco. (In between and all around the girlfriends and lovers I've had in this town lo these past 30 years, San Francisco, with her high hills and her higher price tag, has always been there for me. For all the ambivalence I've had toward various elements of my life, and times during which I've indulged grass-is-greener fantasies, I've always stood by my lady, Baghdad-by-the-Bay.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Universal Healthcare, Democratic Socialism, Humanitarianism, really hot Dominant male/submissive female sex, the best ways to get from point A to point B in San Francisco and the larger Bay Area, constructing bon mots, the aforementioned Jamie & Titus, the short and not so short essays that I write daily on a variety of topics, PoMo Feminism and queer/trans theory, my mom's dementia and how I'm losing her bit-by-bit, possible titles for my inevitable memoirs and other nonfiction books, what a lucky mofo I am to live in the best city in the US, my new weekly convention: Theatrical Thursdays, during which I see a new play or attend a lecture every, you guessed it--Thursday, sex and gender education and politics, the creation of a Two-State Solution, new stories to tell when I emcee events, the place where a woman's hip connects to her waist, breasts, learning from other people's mistakes, being a dad, being a Daddy, my killer tech idea that will provide me the luxury to which I was born (not even a bit), femme/feminine women, how maddeningly obstructionist the Republican House has been, succinct and sassy quotables, new ways to get paid for doing things that edify me and getting wiser faster than I get older.
On a typical Friday night I am
Now this bit is going to likely characterize me as a religious zealot, but virtually every Friday evening, you'll find me at Shabbat Dinner with my BFF, her 7 year old daughter, and her shusband. It's actually more about letting go of the week and communing with the Sabbath peace and one another than it is about religious observance, but if I've conjured in you an image straight out of "Fiddler on the Roof", so be it.

After dinner, the kid goes to CozyTown with one of her parents and after that we have parallel play on our computers as we hash out the week's events, play-by-play.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
A rampant case of diabetes (which is now under control) and the insulin I use to treat it have recently made me a big fella. I'm going to soon have surgery to cure the diabetes and other various and sundry conditions, as well as relieve me of the greater part of my wheat belly. I'm actually pretty fit everywhere but front and center, but if either state, chubby or fit, is a dealbreaker for you, I'm not your guy.
You should message me if
Under Construction. (Hopefully worth the wait.)