62 Kirkland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm looking for a best friend and lover, someone to laugh and dream with, someone to feel absolutely at home with and share life’s simple pleasures. Hopefully a lady with a creative passion. -- Is she you?

I'm a regular guy who works for a living and likes being me. Born and raised on Chicago's northwest side, I love the city’s sights and sounds but prefer life under quiet, starry skies amongst good neighbors and being close to my daughter and three small grandsons. Love visiting and hanging at the lakefront, though, and I have family in Chicago.

My primary passions include creative writing; I write every day. I’m also enjoy photography and am a huge movie lover: romantic comedies, historical dramas, some action films, sci-fi -- pretty much anything but slasher flicks and mindless teen fluff. Looking for someone who loves going to movies, or watching them at home, and enjoys talking about them afterward.

I’m looking for a down to earth woman, preferably with some creative interests who lives reasonably near to me. I don’t care if you own a home, live in an apartment or are temporarily bunking with your people. I don’t care what kind of car you drive or where you work. “Down to earth” describes me and the lady I seek. If you’ve hit some bad times, that shouldn’t keep you from finding a new partner.

If your idea of happiness is the latest BMW model and a lusting after ever more upscale homes, we wouldn't be compatible.

Two adult kids (on their own)
Three incredible grandsons
Likes surprises
Down to earth
Good, albeit offbeat, sense of humor
Enjoys deep conversations
Emotionally open
Great fan of physical intimacy
Loves spooning
Always put the seat down
Not completely unfortunate-looking

The rest you’ll have to find out on your own!

While looks aren’t everything, please post a “recent” photo. After all, I showed you mine; it's only fair you show me yours.

FINE PRINT: I don't do motorcycles, gamble, hunt, fish, rock climb, participate in triathlons or golf -- unless you count mini golf! I am not the “corporate” cubicle type and have zero interest in becoming a Snowbird and moving to Arizona -- That's for old people. Oh, I don't play well with political conservatives!
What I’m doing with my life
My primary passions include creative writing and photography; although I also enjoy small-scale woodworking projects, learning Photoshop, messing with computers, riding my bicycle, hanging out at Chicago's Lakefront (not necessarily lazing around for hours on end on a beach), day or weekend road trips, watching the Bears or Cubs on occasion, eating at unpretentious local restaurants, going to movies... Just too much to name here.

I enjoy my job but am by no means a workaholic. My job pays the bills; everything else is my life.
I’m really good at
Since my primary passion is creative writing, I consider myself quite good at it. I'm a fair photographer, but love it even though I'm no Ansel Adams.

I'm a good listener and really enjoy good conversations about pretty much anything except the lives of the rich and famous or fashion.

Oh, yeah, I'm a darn good spooner!
The first things people usually notice about me
That I look a lot like me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: fiction, especially short fiction collections. That's what I most prefer to write.

Movies: I'm a sucker for a good romantic comedy! Other than that, historical dramas (like Gladiator, The Last Samurai) and some science fiction are also fun.
The six things I could never do without
* My grandsons
* Something to write with or on (a pc or lots of paper and pens).
* Family and friends
* The change of seasons
* Movies
* A camera
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Mostly days (besides work) I find myself thinking about something to write about and whether the lady I'm looking for is really out there somewhere.
On a typical Friday night I am
Being alone, if I don't have any visiting to do I pretty much do the things I like most: have my grandsons over, sit down to write, watch movies, goof off on my PC.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Not yet!
You should message me if
Note: That last "I'm looking for" tool didn't list Long Term Relationship, only "Long term dating." Although dating long term is part of what I'm looking for, I'm not looking for just dating forever; I would hope it might culminate in a permanent relationship at some point.

Message me if you like my profile, if I seem like who you're looking for and if you seek to invest some time in dating with long-term relationship as your eventual goal.