Zack773
44Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Zack773
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an easy-going guy who likes a great variety of things: foreign cinema, live theater, listening to and playing music, book clubs, film clubs, trying new restaurants, cooking at home, hiking and other outdoor adventures...I'm always looking to meet people who may expand my horizons. If time and money were no object, I'd probably spend most of my time traveling the world. Yet at the same time, I've always loved living here in the Bay Area which I feel is the greatest place in the world.
What I’m doing with my life
I've been a teacher for over a decade now and can't really see myself doing anything else at this point. It's intense at times, but gives me a pretty healthy dose of free time as well, especially in summer. Playing piano and exercising at the gym are my favorite recreational activities.
I’m really good at
I speak fluent French and Spanish. I'm a pretty good cook if I've made the dish before or have a recipe in front of me. I'm an avid reader. If you've got a hike you consider challenging, I'll take it--presuming there's no rock-climbing involved.
The first things people usually notice about me
People can easily tell I'm sincere, thoughtful, and have a good sense of humor. I can tell a decent joke and I'm good at a variety of stage accents. Of course it's hard not to notice I'm a pretty short guy, but I'm good with that.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love to read and am especially partial to modern fiction. Some of the authors I've read several times are Margaret Atwood, Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, Henning Mankell, Richard Ford, and Philip Roth. The list goes on, but that's enough for now.

My cinematic tastes tend towards indie and foreign films, but I try to keep up with the academy award-winners as well. I'm not really a TV show person but I just started getting into "Stranger Things" and am seriously hooked!

Most of the music in my iTunes library falls into the Alternative category. Some of my faves are Tori Amos, Bjork, Elvis Costello, and Jack White. I have music in almost every genre, though, from classical and jazz to heavy metal.

I consider myself somewhat of a foodie but don't go to sit-down restaurants more than once or twice in a typical month. I'll eat almost anything but especially like Chinese, French, Italian, sushi, and Thai.
Six things I could never do without
Family
Live theater
Good books
Good food
Foreign films
The NYT crossword puzzle
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Current events, people I've met, places I've been and places I want to go.
On a typical Friday night I am
First a good workout. Then hopefully a good play or show is in town. If not, drinks with friends and a movie. Or a glass of wine and a DVD if it's been a hard week.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I'm tired, I tend to giggle spontaneously and for no apparent reason. And I like to sing in the shower.
You should message me if
You're a reader, especially of fiction. You can speak a language other than English. You like to talk politics and/or philosophy. You take wine-tasting seriously. Or you just want to know what I'm about.
More
The two of us
--
Lifestyle
--
Dating
--
Other
--
Ethics
--
Sex
--
Religion