67 Old Chelsea, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I've lived most of my life in the country and much prefer it to city life but I'm only minutes drive to downtown Ottawa so its very convenient for shopping or working in the city . I love the quiet and very seldom hear a siren or construction. There are birds everywhere and deer often standing on my front lawn. I keep a couple of chickens and have a cat that is a great buddy.
I have a huge vegetable garden and I grow much of my own food but now I'm planting more flowers because, being alone, I can't eat all the food that I produce.
I ski both downhill and cross country in the winter and in the summer I swim and spend a lot of time outside. The yard and garden take much of my spare time and I'm semi retired.
I like to take the odd holiday but I'm mostly happy just staying home. In my younger days I traveled to many exotic places and had many adventures such as sailing yachts in Greece , Italy Corsica and the Caribbean, skiing in the Rockies and driving rented cars to exotic places in Mexico , Costa Rica etc.. or just sitting in the Medina in Marrakesh Morocco. I'm not the type to go to an all inclusive resort for a week or two and sit on the beach plastered with sun tan oil.
Many of my friends are younger than me as I find it easier to relate to the younger mindset and I find people my age have become in-flexable and set in their ways. I spend a lot of time with my adult daughter.
I have many hobbies other than the garden such as making wine from California Grapes, maple syrup because i have many maple trees and it happens at a time of year that is nice to get outside. I have all the equipment to make stoneware pottery but I haven't been doing it for a few years now as it's fairly labour intensive and time consuming . I'm keeping the equipment for now because it's the type of hobby that can be done later in life and it could bring in a small supplementary income.
After a very long relationship I don't mind living alone as there are many benefits but now since 14+ years have passed it can be lonely at times. I have many friends both male and female but there is always room for more. I'm not looking for someone to own, control or change, but just friends that thinks it could be fun knowing me and possibly a special friend.
My future is wide open right now as both my parents are gone, my daughter is busy with her life and there are no grand children yet.

Some of the pull down menus are hard to find an answer that is suitable.
Do i drink . often but socially and almost exclusively red wine that i make with no additives. Doctors orders as It's a natural health drink in moderation.
Diet. Mostly anything that doesn't include pre-packaged food or foods containing a long list of chemical ingredient or with high salt, sugar or fat content. Also I don't like most restaurant food and can't eat gluten.
What I’m doing with my life
Pretty much retired but now and then work part time as a builder and have many hobbies. I've been single for many years now, by choice, and have enjoyed the freedom after a 26 year relationship.
I’m really good at
Making things, fixing things, growing things and having fun.
The first things people usually notice about me
Not sure what others are noticing about me and you usually can't go by what they're saying. They're likely wondering why i didn't brush my hair but saying I have nice eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I don't read many fiction books but read the newspaper, magazines and knowledge books. I like all kinds of movies especially ones that make me laugh. I like most music except maybe polka and rap. Food is a big one. I eat really healthy food when available and love all the different flavours available from around the world.
The six things I could never do without
Healthy but tasty food, red wine, laughing, affection, family, relaxation. Maybe not in that order, but that's the way it came to mind.
There's more basic stuff like oxygen and water and exotic stuff like jet planes and overproof rum on a tropical beach.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to make, what has to be done, fun to do.
On a typical Friday night I am
Wondering why i didn't make plans earlier.
I usually find something fun to do but I also don't mind staying home alone and watching TV in winter. Friday night isn't that much different from any other night. Very often in the summer I make a fire outside to cook on and hang out with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
This is really hard as I'm not that private. You can get a truthful answer out of me on almost any subject.
You should message me if
Message me if you have any interest or want to know more.
I likely won't spend a lot of time sending long, first contact, messages as far too often there is no reply. Don't be shy or play 'hard to get'.. If you're interested come out and say it and we'll see where it takes us with no pressure or misguided expectations.