33 Panacea, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Good morning. The name's Kip.

For a handful of years I've been pretending to be a vagabond. I am currently living off the gulf coast thirty miles south of Tallahassee. I grew up in this area, but haven't been back here for a decade. Seems like nothing has really changed.

I have a wonderful daughter who lives with her mother in Minnesota. She loves Pirates, Ponies, and the color Purple.

I enjoy lurking the internet, gaming, and playing/practicing music. I've amassed quite the collection of instruments I enjoy using, but nothing worth quitting a day job over.

I've also started cycling in the past six months. Really enjoying it as well of the thought of removing my extra baggage I've got around my waist.
What I’m doing with my life
What am I doing with my life? That's a brilliant question to which I do not have a smart reply. While at times I feel like I've missed the boat when looking at my friends and where they've ended up, I realize that it isn't for me. In the past when attempted to get myself in order for one thing or another, it either ended up not working out very well or I learned that I didn't even like what I was going for. I guess I'm lucky to be in a position where I can still try to figure it all out without going into debt or spending every waking hour in a job that won't get me anywhere in the long term.
I’m really good at
Talking with strangers, especially those who are nervous or awkward. I find it odd that that I have skills in such a thing considering how horrible I am at general communication with people I know.

I'd also like to think I'm good with music.
The first things people usually notice about me
I stick out like a sore thumb.

It is not that I seek attention or try be different from those around me, I just don't quite fit in.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
As strange as this may be, but I often have a hard time listening to most music, but there are three main types I enjoy listening to:
• Music I can perform, have performed, or can work at to perform. Usually this is some form of Blues or Jazz as well as some Classical.
• Then there's music that's best considered a journey. Something that works and flows and I can get completely lost in. Often times this is something with lots of different layers playing at once and in an unusual meter.
• Lastly music of discovery. I really like hearing things I've never heard before. New styles, methods, and sounds. To sate this thirst I'd often listen to a local college station when I lived in Florida. They would play just about anything you can imagine, as well as plenty of stuff one doesn't even know to imagine.

I enjoy eating but am a horrible chef (I once had a toaster catch fire). Whenever I get to a stove and start cooking something I'll end up adding whatever is nearby, often with mixed results. But I do love pasta, shrimp, and cheese.

I'm not much of a reader. If I've got time to sit and read I'd rather spend my energy with a clarinet in hand over a novel. That said, sci-fi and fantasy tend to be my go-to books. Last thing I read through was a good chunk of the Dragonriders of Pern series.

Movies and Television:
I seldom go out to see movies. I have this idea in my head that if I want to watch a movie I should do it alone without distraction and if I want to hang out with others the show doesn't matter and can be ignored. I've also not been the most impressed with the direction movies television have been going the past years. Too much drama just to be dramatic and CGI where practical effects could give more life and soul. Though recently I've stumbled upon a streaming site that plays just about anything at all hours of the day so I can jump in, get some exposure to something random, then head out without a concern.

There are some things I've really enjoyed seeing, mainly classics, comedies, sci-fi, psychological, and anime. I realize it is customary to list out specifics, but there are a lot of things I've enjoyed and I don't want to have to list them or pick out 'only the best' since my taste and desires in what to see tend to change and cycle.
The six things I could never do without
The basics of Maslow's hierarchy of needs followed closely by access to musical instruments.

The rest I've learned how to manage without, but having the internet is pretty awesome.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Intonation, keeping track of my meals and exercise, gaming stuff for/with friends.

To a much lesser extent, how to reduce the number of times the word 'I' is used on my okCupid bio (though not with as much success as desired).
On a typical Friday night I am
On a typical Friday I'm chatting with friends online and seeing if any are willing to jump into a game together. Other than that just standard lurking about, music, or sleeping.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't use Facebook.
You should message me if
You should message me if you want to message me.