aabbcc9
44 Palo Alto, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
aabbcc9
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Not fashion conscious, but I'm not a slob. I clean up very well, but often don't think about it much. I may come across as aloof, but maybe a passing glance at my unexpectedly intense hazel-greenish eyes happens occasionally. Maybe a woman might notice me, if they are the observant type, and like the lean, sensitive and thoughtful type. I believe I, in the confidence of my own personality though not necessarily my social skills, fade and blend into the background. I'm an observer, but can converse. I don't often make a scene, and I'm under the impression that the hoi poloi don't necessarily notice when I walk into a room. That's fine, it's not in my nature to swagger or be be boisterously extroverted, and I (for one) have put behind the subtle societal pressures of the cultural expectations to be loud when I don't feel like it, or to chatter when I have little of importance to say. (Though, when nervous or excited, I can babble on a bit. Charmingly so, I hope.)

I consider my self reticent and shy, though average folks in my life at work and play don't believe this self-definition. On the introverted side, but not at all a shadow. I am an extremely patient person, an intellectual in variety of interests, and a generally self-aware and evaluative person.

The type of woman I'm attracted to is intelligent, comfortable with herself, strong-willed, forgiving, and mentally flexible. My interests include all sciences, Sci-fi, Nature, Travel, Hiking, Books, Current Events, Classical Music, Biology and pretty much anything. I have an odd, quirky sense of humor, often amusing myself more often than others. Basically I like people that are curious and always learning. Being non-religious and having liberal politics are musts.

And finally...I'm a sucker for scientists. A woman in pin-striped pants also gives me pause. Oh, and gummy bears are my kryptonite. Yum!
What I’m doing with my life
Work at an academic Cardiovascular Institute, volunteering at a children's hospital, hanging out with friends, reading and wandering libraries, playing with my niece and nephew, playing board-games when I get a chance. Looking for someone to hang-out with...;) I'd like to get that last one off the list.
I’m really good at
Reading, editing, listening, pool and smarty-pants conversations.
The first things people usually notice about me
Hm. I've heard eyes; but I always think most people notice how lean I am...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Ah, this is more first date topics! So many choices...
The six things I could never do without
I'm too literal for this question. I can do without much of anything but the biological needs...as do most folks if they really think about it seriously.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Science, friends, family, work, bioethics, music, comics and a good read.
On a typical Friday night I am
Work...sigh. Then heading home. I just don't get out on Fridays, can you change that? Still, I'm usually off by 8 p.m. so I'm game to do stuff afterwards with the right invitation. But know I'm taking classes, I might have to change this up a bit if I happen to have a class Fridays depending on the quarter.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I collect comic books...graphic literature I mean! Oh, and I love anime. Ponyo is great!
You should message me if
You're a scientist or love science (expertise is not necessary, as I'm certainly not an expert but very interested), you somehow read this WHOLE thing and are still curious, you're a world-traveler, you're looking for a good conversation, you know what you want (and it isn't perfection, but a darn great journey); you have a pair of pin-striped pants. :)
More