34 Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’m a recent graduate from UCLA, where I got my degree in Sociology. I am a reformed activist, and by that I mean I still care about issues, I’m just tired of being angry and looking for a fight (or something to fight for) all the time. At a glance most people tend to think I’m pretty alternative, but I’m actually a huge geek once you get to know me. I’m on Digg and Reddit all the time, mostly because I can get away with that at work, so extra points if you know what those are.

I like traveling to different countries, getting immersed in different cultures, meeting new people, spending the night in reading and listening to music (indie/folk/punk/rock/techno). I love animals, dogs in particular, and used to volunteer at the humane society. I enjoy intellectual discourse about philosophy, religion, politics, just about anything. I'm not much of a gear head (yet), but my current pet project is my 1965 Shelby GT 350.

I also appreciate tasteful body art and piercings (I currently have 3 piercings, not counting the 2 in my ears. For awhile I was planning out 2 sleeves but I put that on the back burner for awhile. I know exactly what I want for one of them but my priority list has changed.

I am adventurous, stubborn, and genuine
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently working full time at a job that pays the bills and then some. I'm mostly saving up to fund my current projects (getting my quarter sleeves done and restoring my car). After a few years when those projects are complete I plan on going back to school to get another degree, this time in Mechanical Engineering. As a kid I always dreamed of being an inventor and now that I'm older there's nothing stopping me from chasing that dream.

For the first time in my life I think found something to be passionate about and I have goals that make me truly happy. Yeah, it feels pretty good.
I’m really good at
Blinking during pictures. I don't even have to try. What can I say it's just natural talent.

Also, any line that I enter in a grocery story automatically becomes the slowest moving line in the store regardless of pre-existing conditions.

I'll be the first to admit that neither of these seem very useful right now but I'm still optimistic that some day it will pay off.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile, because I love laughing and making other people laugh. Well, they probably actually notice the piercings first, then the smile!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I have a pretty broad range of musical tastes, anything from classical to bluegrass to hip hop. The only genre exception really is country, but I'm trying extra hard to get into it, but no luck yet.

Here's a little sample of my Pandora stations:
Sneaker Pimps, Feist, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Ladytron, The Postal Service, Gorillaz, Lily Allen, Glasvegas, The Limousines, Rancid, Bad Religion, Tegan And Sara, Rilo Kiley, Jets To Brazil, The Rocket Summer, NERD, The Blow, The Submarines, Architecture In Helsinki, Placebo, Soundgarden, Chairlift, Hellogoodbye, Jimmy Eat World, Owl City, Chemical Brothers, Boys Noize, Pendulum, Mumford and Sons, Kings Of Leon, The White Stripes, Muse, Pomplamoose, Reel Big Fish

I would have to go with Indian food, but its a pretty close call. I love trying different types of ethnic food and there's nothing I won't try. Actually, I have to admit I passed on the water beetles that were being sold on the street in Thailand, think fist-sized cockroaches, but that was mostly because no one else would do it with me. I guess I like quality Chinese food, but that's a given right? Seafood? Sushi? Steak? Anytime.
The six things I could never do without
1. A family that I can't relate to but nevertheless try my hardest to be a part of.
2. Supportive friends and deep late night talks
3. Opportunities to challenge and improve myself
4. My shoebox full of stuff random things that friends have given me over the years.
5., I don't know if I could face work without this
6. My cowboy boots
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Fate and coincidence.

That whole "I haven't talked to you in 3 years but I was just thinking about it today and hey look who called" type of thing? That's a pretty minor example, much weirder things have happened, trust me.

Actually, I probably spend the most time thinking about my friends, most of whom live way too far away. I miss them lots.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends, reading, doing research for my various projects, watching movies, going to a rock show or two. Once in awhile I'll go to the bars, but that's not really my thing.

In general though my favorite thing to do when I have free time is explore go on random adventures, maybe even get a little lost.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I recently found out during my last visit to the doctor that I'm actually 6 feet tall. This after telling everyone that I was 5'11 for the last 10 years or so. Not quite sure what happened there...

FYI this profile is also amazingly out of date (like years). Not even joking.
You should message me if
You're the type of person that puts a smile on everyone's face when you walk into a room. You are kind, happy, and quick to forgive. You're well adjusted, and proactive. You don't have to be an academic genius, but you're quick on the uptake and able to talk about any and everything. You are silly, maybe a little sarcastic (in the funny witty way, not the mean way).

On that note, even if you don't think that you have the same interests as me, feel free to message me. More than anything I love exploring so if you have something to teach or show me I'm all for it.