38Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
A coastal New England native who has lived 1/2 her life in coastal California. NE will always feel like home and California will never cease to keep drawing me back to it's embrace. When in places that are new to me I make an effort to learn about the life of those who live there...I am an ethnographer at heart.

I have an exuberance for life that can be contagious (witty banter with a dash of sarcasm is frequent - I tend to show my emotions/thoughts with my facial expressions). I am curious about the world, history, and the human experience. I live a healthy/active life in which I am always seeking more balance and new adventures to search out unexplored surf breaks, climb trees in the forest or rock faces to scale, explore open spaces, and breathe in fresh air. I will swim/surf in any cold body of water but I'll never say no to the tropics. Recently I have come to acknowledge the importance and wonder of sleep!

My love of arts and culture compliments my appreciation of the natural out-of-doors. I frequent museums and performances, attend lectures, and seek out unfamiliar ways to expose myself to something new.

I have been single for a good stint and have lived fully in my independence. The last decade has been one of emotional growth and therefore I feel more clear. I desire meaningful connection in the physical, soulful, and partnership realms. I am not looking for a man to fit into a "package" I create (nor do I want to fit myself into a package that another has created)....quite the contrary; I am excited to co-create. I welcome the opportunity to make myself vulnerable with one who is also excited and ready to do the same.
What I’m doing with my life
- making lists and getting things done
- Making sure the next generation is equipped with the critical thinking skills, self confidence, and compassion to take the risks necessary to make positive change
- helping people live more comfortably in their bodies:
- learning as many languages as my brain can keep organized
- finding pleasure in simplicity
- getting to and in the ocean as much my time and little carrito will allow
- riding up hills and surfing ocean waves
- laughing a lot
I’m really good at
getting the attention of my students without saying a word, telling animated stories, laughing at your animated stories, being flexible, getting spiders out of the house without hurting them, recognizing my subjectivity, tripping and recovering gracefully, bringing people together, getting dirty, cleaning up.
The first things people usually notice about me
I move with grace, I laugh often, and I'm long-legged
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
BOOKS: Tanehesi Coates, junot Diaz, Jumpa Lahiri, a few titles I have enjoyed wholeheartedly: The Time Traveler's Wife, Blue Mind as well as academic reading, classics, and news. I just finished Finding Mañana, memoirs about the Mariel Boat lift from Cuba- interesting and sad.

MUSIC: oooofff! this list could go on for days: reggae/dancehall, Hip Hop (of the conscious political sort), Blues, Jazz, Forro, Pagode, Samba, MPG, Nueva Trova, Bachata, Son Jarocho.....

FOOD: I eat well as a means to take care of myself but also to support local and sustainable agriculture. I love to eat out as much as I like to try new recipes at brings people together.
Six things I could never do without
olive oil
being weightless in water/a surfboard
the senses
a hoodie/flip flops/a pair of heels
Wide open space
I spend a lot of time thinking about
-too much....all the while reminding myself to just be
-tides, wind, swell, swell direction and the combination of all four
-if I should drink coffee or opt for tea
-changes that can faciliate moving out of the city and closer to the ocean
On a typical Friday night I am
sharing dinner, biking over hill and dale, reading a book, at a dance performance, watching a movie, turning in early to get to the ocean first thing in the morning
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have secrets...they are to be shared intimately.
You should message me if
you want to meet one another in the flesh....let's see if our curiosity grows in person!

you are curious about the world and you want a partner for weekend getaways, to surf ocean waves, bike around a city or forest, to camp in the redwoods, to explore a new city, ski down mountains, dance the night away, and/or to ride bikes to any destination.

You have some sort of physical practice other than going to the gym (for me the gym as a place to build/maintain the strength to be able to do the things I love out of doors)

if you have a selfie of your shirtless torso or a picture of yourself in the gym please don't message me. Lastly, please note-if you only message "hi" I will not respond.
The two of us