36Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Originally from Istanbul, I spent some years on the East Coast and then moved to Berkeley for grad school. I am an engineer by training but took a turn in career direction into public health some years ago and am now working on water and health research. I absolutely love what I do and my work takes me abroad often. I love that through my job I get to travel, learn languages and try to find my footing in unfamiliar settings, all of which are among my favorite things to do in life.

I absolutely love the outdoors. Always up for hiking, camping, running Lake Merritt, swimming and most other things done outdoors (the big exceptions are snow-related activities and sports that require hand-eye coordination - I am spectacularly bad at them).

I love dancing and know and/or can fake enough steps to any dance to have a good time, without being particularly good at any of them. I also like strumming chords on my guitar and singing along.
What I’m doing with my life
I am a post-doctoral researcher and focus a lot of time and energy on my research. I travel a lot, both for work and for fun.
I’m really good at
Adapting. Being positive. Learning languages. Coming through for friends.
The first things people usually notice about me
They notice the accent but can't place it. Also, that I speak fast and laugh often.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I enjoy non-fiction and have a soft spot for history and sciency things.

I am biased in favor of foreign movies (The Lives of Others, All About My Mother, Head On to list a few). I am pretty illiterate about TV shows but I do watch (and love) Game of Thrones and the occasional Turkish soap opera.

I loved the Beatles as a teenager (and still have a special place in my heart for them). I am not up to speed on contemporary music and like the older stuff (60s-80s). I like dancing to Latin and swing beats. I love old school jazz, and Balkan/Rebetiko tunes melt my heart.

My cooking is Mediterranean-ish and I can probably happily live for a *very* long time on feta, tomatoes and olive oil. I have vegetarian tendencies but generally appreciate food in all forms and shapes.
Six things I could never do without
I have found that I can give up a lot of things and not really mind. The absolute must is companionship from friends and family. Good food is pretty hard to give up and so is a good night's sleep and a nice cup of tea in the morning. If I had to name more tangible things, I'd say my passport, my laptop and the ocean/sea.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Work, Istanbul, the future.
On a typical Friday night I am
Cooking with music in the background and a glass of wine in hand, out and about with friends or curled up with a book. And occasionally I find myself doing work - it happens.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Umm, *private* thing I am willing to admit to anonymous strangers??
You should message me if
We are probably more likely to get along if you like the outdoors and have a thing for traveling and a bit of adventure in you. Ultimately though, what matters is whether you are kind and emotionally mature, appreciate the value of mutual respect, understand the give/take ratio in relationships, are willing/able to communicate through conflict and have compassion.

Also, I am a data scientist - I believe in the power of algorithms and big data so I do take this match percentage thing somewhat seriously and have a preference for those who are a reasonably good match by okc voodoo standards.

P. S. I am not on the A-list thing so if you "like" me I won't know who you are - please send a message instead!

Also, please no contentless one-liners like "hey, how r u?" - I truly don't know how to respond to those.
The two of us