49 Atlanta, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I live in town, and I like in town sort of stuff. I am pretty outspokenly liberal (if you take Fox ‘News’ seriously we are probably not going to hit it off.) I have a job I love and I work hard at. I love to travel- I've been to some cool places, and have many more that I want to visit.
What I’m doing with my life
Living, experiencing, always (I hope) moving forward, appreciating. And as much as I can- travelling!
I’m really good at
Laughling at myself.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I drive too fast? Or maybe my red hair.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I love to read. Recent favorites have been The Elephant’s Journey, Shantaram, Master and the Margarita, Aunt Julia and the Script Writer, Sheltering Sky, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob van Zoet, Cutting for Stone, Things Fall Apart.

TV: Everyone says that they don’t watch much tv- LOL- so maybe I watch the average amount. A couple of hours, a couple times a week? I might land on Modern Family, Suborgatory, Big Bang Theory, How I Meet Your Mother (I’ve caught that new Sherlock Holmes show a couple of times- it’s pretty great!), but more likely watching something on ondemand- Dr. Who, or an HGTV show, etc. I have to watch The Daily Show, Colbert Report, and Rachel Maddow online.

Not TV shows: I like live theater and try to go several times a year to Dad’s Garage, Horizon, etc. And like art galleries, openings or neighborhood walks. I like the funky bits of performance art that pop up around town, or at the Goat Farm. I don’t see live music as much as I used to, but definitely enjoy it when I do.

Movies: I generally like the kinda quirky, independent type of film. I don’t get to the movies as often as I’d like. I (like everyone else) really like Moonrise Kingdom, Best Marigold, etc.- pretty trite, huh? I saw Trishna which was pretty powerful. I keep telling myself that I’ll sign back up for Netflix (or another company) and get up to date on cinema.

Music: In no order at all: Architecture in Helsinki, Of Montreal The Decemberists, The Blow, Magnetic Fields, Neutral Milk Hotel, The Mountain Goats, Dressy Bessy, Hello Saferide, Lykke Li, Death Cab for Cutie, Casiotone for the Painfully Alone, Belle & Sebastian, Maggie, Pierce & EJ, Jesca Hoop, Animal Collective, Ra Ra Riot, Camera Obscura, Deerhoof, Edward Sharpe, and a million others not coming immediately to mind. I have always and still love TMBG.

Food: I’m an omnivore. I will try pretty much anything. I have enjoyed guinea pig and snails and even squirrel (but I love my vegetables, too!). I enjoy all kinds of ethnic food, and am always up for a trip to Buford Highway. I’d take an interesting place with a good vibe and good food over the latest, expensive ‘it’ place, any day.
The six things I could never do without
Books, more books, music, sunshine, travel, and naps on rainy days.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What might happen next in my life. (that and my next trip)
On a typical Friday night I am
Often relaxing at home, recovering from the work week! But it just depends on what comes up.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am really not good at this ‘profile’ stuff. I have a friend who is a writer, and she helped me edit my profile- streamlined it, and punched up the interesting bits; it was pretty slick. But it just didn’t feel like me, so I am back to my way too wordy, dorky one.