28 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I moved to Brooklyn in the fall last year to get my MFA in creative writing for children (I mostly write YA). I’ve never thought of myself as a city person, but so far I’ve loved it. I like almost all noncompetitive outdoor activities and politically consider myself to be a liberal. I’m probably one of the most outgoing introverts you’ll ever meet.
What I’m doing with my life
Reading and writing a lot. Taking rambling walks through Prospect Park. Writing curriculum for a middle school reading program. Teaching story structure to a bunch of undergrads.
I’m really good at
Making book suggestions, giving really specific compliments, and playing devil's advocate.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably my curly hair or my laugh (depending on if someone hears or sees me first).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Right now I’m reading A Dance with Dragons and just finished Americanah. Some favorites of mine are A Wrinkle in Time, The Great Gatsby, Catcher in the Rye, Ender’s Game, and pretty much anything by Jane Austen or Rainbow Rowell.

Movies, shows, and music are all (predictably) pretty eclectic, although I am kind of a wuss about scary things. I think old movies, especially ones with Katherine Hepburn or Cary Grant, are some of the most fun to watch. I'm counting down the days until I get new episodes of OITNB and Transparent. The last three concerts I went to were Mumford and Sons, Kanye West, and DJ Dodger Stadium (EDM).

Food wise, I’ll try anything once. Lately, I’ve been making a lot of Indian curries at home and have been searching for the best bagel in New York.
The six things I could never do without
Google Maps on my phone. A Library Card. Skype chats with my little sister. Large Mugs. Olive oil. The ability to laugh at myself.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Trips I want to take, books I want to read, what I’m going to make for dinner, and how my family and friends are doing.
On a typical Friday night I am
Having people over for dinner, getting drinks with friends, occasionally dancing, and sometimes going to a reading at one of my favorite bookstores.
You should message me if
You want to grab coffee or a drink and get to know each other. That’s the point right?