almost-charming
27 Ypsilanti, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
almost-charming
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I guess to put it simply, I'm just a guy looking to forge new bonds. I'm quiet, smart, funny on occasion and I try really hard to find the good in people. I'm the type of person who would rather have one great friend than a bunch of acquaintances so I try to invest a lot into people I want to keep in my life. I value logic and reason, but but also emotion and want people in my life that aren't afraid to express themselves emotionally or intellectually. I like to adventure, alone or with people I'm close to.

I'm kind of a nerd. When time allows, I love to sit around and watch movies or play board games with friends, or play a video game or two.

I'm very much a health nut. I feel great when I'm active and eat well so I do everything I can to perpetuate those habits. I also appreciate great food and drink though, so I enjoy splurging now and then.
What I’m doing with my life
Right now I'm working as a surgical technologist at U of M. I love my job, but it is very demanding in many aspects of my life including time. I'm looking for a person/people sensitive to that. Beside working, I'm adjusting to a new city and trying to find a new social circle.
I’m really good at
-Listening
-Cooking
-Running
-Gardening
-Remembering random bits of information, usually of the useless variety.
The first things people usually notice about me
As far as first impressions, I'm told I don't always make the best. I tend to be pretty reserved, especially around new people. Some people interpret that as me being distant, even cold. I can promise you that isn't me. Give me a chance to get past my shyness and I'm generally very warm and friendly.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorites:
Books - Ishmael by Daniel Quinn, Lithium For Medea by Kate Braverman.
Movies - The Fountain, Beauty and the Beast, anything Miyazaki, Sunshine.
Shows - Battlestar Galactica, Buffy/Angel, Veronica Mars, United States of Tara, Archer.
Music - Indie rock/Folk/Electronic (ask about specifics)
Food - Indian and Thai (if it has noodles, tofu, is spicy or any
combination of those three I will love it)
The six things I could never do without
-A great friend.
-Books
-Music
-A chef's knife.
-A good pair of running shoes.
-A new hobby or project to obsess over.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My job and how to be better at it. The human body and how it works. How to be a better person, for myself and the people I care about. Where I'm going to end up in the future, literally and figuratively.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually decompressing after a long work week, either relaxing at home or out with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've dealt with social anxiety for as long as I can remember. I've improved by leaps and bounds over the years but crowds that are large or made up of completely new people can still put me too inside my head for my own good.
You should message me if
If you think we would make a great connection, in whatever form.
More