39Durban, South Africa
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I grew up in Durban. Studied at UKZN and through UNISA. Have travelled a bit working in England and Taiwan. My favourite sport is Football and I enjoy going out with friends whether to movies, clubs or concerts as well as quiet times at home watching dvd's.

I'm a bit of a walking contradiction. I don't really read that much but work as an english lecturer. I'm a vegetarian who cares a lot about the environment but spends way too much time in front of the tv/computer and not much out in nature. I don't have much interest in religious and spiritual matters but I have quite old-fashioned morals (ok that part is probably a total lie...but in my defense getting up to 500 words is proving to be a real challenge.

I'm pretty good at fitting in to different situations. I blame it on my star sign being Cancer and moon sign Pisces (I've always had way too much free time so know a lot of arb stuff I really shouldn't know or care about). anyway that supposedly makes me really water is...except when it's ice...or a gas. I wonder what the air in air signs contains. I get easily distracted and side-tracked. I Procrastinate a lot.
ok back to my point. I can talk sports with the jocks, computers with the geeks and about books with literary types. I'm pretty crap with all things visual though- art, architecture all that kind of stuff I just don't get.

I'm not overly ambitious. My only real ambition is to be happy some day.

I am funny, reckless, and strange
What I’m doing with my life
I'm doing some studying now that I'm back in Durban after teaching English in Thailand for three years.. Trying to meet people as awesome as me to spend time with. Trying to finish a book and film script. Seems like I'm trying a lot of things. Maybe it would be more accurate to say intending to try to do all those things.
I’m really good at
Getting people to like me....but just not quite enough to date me ;)
The first things people usually notice about me
i'm funny and/or crazy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Piers Plowman for medieval times. Anything by Marlowe for renaissance, Alice in wonderland, Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde and Frankenstein for victorian. of more recent stuff- Born on the 4th of july and Catch 22.
I also sometimes find the giant book of jewish fairy tales (sometimes also known as the bible) quite amusing.

Movies: Not really good at remembering movies- they don't seem to make as lasting an impression as books. Generally weird ones like Donnie Darko and Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind.

Music: Generally indie/alternative music- Metric, Beastie Boys, RATM, Kasabian, Arctic Monkeys, MGMT.
Six things I could never do without
i'm pretty adaptable so not sure about this one. I guess i would struggle without contact lenses if I needed to see stuff far away, medicine if I'm sick, other than that erm food, water, oxygen and interesting conversation
I spend a lot of time thinking about
the meaning of life, why more people don't realise how awesome i am, that kind of thing.
On a typical Friday night I am
having a few drinks with friends. Or if it's been a tiring week then watching tv or playing computer games. I'm trying to buy more series on dvd to avoid just having to watch whatever random crap is on at the time.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
4 out of 5 doctore agree that I'm insane. If i'm unsure what to do in a given situation I ask myself "What would Cartman do?". It used to be "What would Bender do?" but Futurama hasn't been on for quite some time and my memory aint so good.
You should message me if
You're not conservative and/or easily offended. You have nothing better to do. You are entertaining.
The two of us