31Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
East Coaster, sort of fast-paced, interested in engaging conversations, interested in movies and sports but also in "the human condition." Arab/Italian/German/American. Good in large social groups. Have recently become a quasi-athlete, which I didn't expect. Teaching is pretty important to me
What I’m doing with my life
In a PhD program, so spending lots of time teaching and researching. I've recently run two half-marathons, a 5K, and two 10K's. For the most part I like talking about people, drinking, biking, swimming, running, tennis, and also reading. I'm looking to meet more people in the city outside of my graduate-school cohort, fun as they are, and exploring the city more.
I’m really good at
Talking quickly, entertaining people, getting some people to dislike me quickly, being honest, running 10 miles on Friday mornings while hungover!!!!

Eye-hand coordination.

Of the 132 students I've taught so far, none of them have yet to fall asleep. Except for Gilberto.
The first things people usually notice about me
They usually laugh, whether they mean to or not. People find me funny, sociable, outgoing, non-serious. Parents of friends like me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Catcher in the Rye / Zen and the Art / The Amazing Adventures of Cavalier & Clay / The Fifties / The Things They Carried / the annual editions of The Best American Sports Writing and The Best American Short Stories. My bookshelf takes up a wall of my apartment...

Goodfellas / Shawshank / those Nora Ephron movies that guys are supposed to find corny / Days of Heaven / Coen Brothers / True Romance / Rudy / The Godfathers / The Graduate / Tarantino / Spielberg. I have a top-50 list. My dad has a top-200 list. He's a better man than me.

Arrested Development / The Wire / Twin Peaks / Six Feet Under / 30 Rock / Parks and Rec / etc.
Six things I could never do without
Family, humor, walking, coffee, beer, and books

Sometimes I think I'm original, and then sometimes
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I'm a nostalgic person, so I'm often recounting past events. But I'm also very open so if I'm thinking something I'll simultaneously be saying it - whether that's with the person I'm with or to myself. I am an ESFP.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out at bars with any friends, or playing poker with closer friends, or playing Settlers of Catan with another set of friends, or watching Netflix, alone, with several thousand PBR's to my left
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm pretty sure I'll hike the Appalachian Trail before I die. I think this'll be in my mid-40's after some gruesome divorce
You should message me if
You'd just like to chat, grab drinks, hang out, etc
The two of us