33San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
For someone who purports to be a writer, I am incredibly inept at writing the summary sections on dating websites. I'm sorry in advance.

I'm a Midwestern-born, former Deep South resident, who now resides in San Francisco, while trekking down to Mountain View most weekdays for work. I also don't know the meaning of relaxation, apparently, as I tend to pack my weekday evenings to the brim, usually with some sort of athletic endeavor. I've been a figure skater in some capacity since I was 7, and have recently been giving tumbling/trampoline, weight lifting, and ballet a go.

Stories live in my head and often make their way onto paper (more accurately, Scrivener) during my free time. Naturally, I decided to pursue and nurture my creative inclinations by going to law school.

Wait...that doesn't sound right. At any rate, that's what I did. After graduation, I decided I still wanted to pursue writing, became a tech journalist for a few years, then found my way back into the legal field as an editor of attorney-produced website content. I like my job and I enjoy the people I work with. Now, if they'd only relocate 50 miles north so I'd never have to use Caltrain again.

A few years back, I finally came to grips with the realization that I was transgender (ftm) as well. Then came the acknowledgement that I was gay (and that transguys even could be gay...thanks, oblivious Midwestern upbringing for not cluing me in on that one!). I'm in the process of medically transitioning at this point and couldn't be happier. I have a great group of friends, am out as trans in a supportive work environment, and am feeling comfortable in my own skin for the first time in my life. Now I just need to find a guy to share it with. In the meantime, I'm open to making new friends as well. If you think we might click on any level, drop me a line.
What I’m doing with my life
Writing a lot for fun. Editing a lot for work. Dancing Tuesdays and Thursdays. Trying to perfect tumbling passes on Mondays. Bemoaning my double axel and impressing people with butt spins on Wednesdays. Simmering down with a Netflix pick on Fridays (unless I'm enticed by someone to do otherwise).

I also seem to take copious amounts of camera phone pictures and tweak them on Instagram in a way that I'm going to pretend is profound.

Also probably not sleeping enough, but hey.
I’m really good at
Figure skating. No, really. I'm a two-time US adult national medalist. I love jumping. Being graceful, not so much (because I'm totally not).

Learning foreign languages. Not sure why, but I pick them up relatively quickly.

Being a dork when it comes to internet memes.

The first things people usually notice about me
My hipster glasses that aren't really hipster because they're actually prescription, maybe. Possibly my hair (it's full of secrets).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Anything YA except Twilight. Sorry, Edward and Jacob. I just don't get Bella's appeal. I also like a good autobiography, historical fiction/non-fiction and stories that have mild fantasy elements.

Blogs: G-A-Y (because Jeremy Hooper is amaze-balls), Waking Up Now (same goes for Rob). Gawker's not really a blog but I read that a bunch too. Same goes for Qweerty sometimes.

Movies: Anything but horror, because I'm a wuss. I really like indie films and docs. Sometimes mainstream big-budgets are just as fun though. I pretty much live for Frameline every year.

Shows: I'm going to puff out my chest and pretend I'm not ashamed here when I admit to "America's Next Top Model," "Project Runway," and pretty much anything on HGTV. I also love "Suits" - obligatory lawyer dramedy + eye candy men in suits, ahoy.

Music: I like a lot of genres. Right now, my Spotify playlist has songs from All Time Low, The Ting Tings, Caught a Ghost, Fun., Scissor Sisters, +44, The Format, Anberlin, Fitz and the Tantrums, The Maine, Mat Kearney, and Hedley if that helps any.

Food: Indian, Thai, Ethiopian, and Lebanese top my list. I'm an on-again, off-again vegetarian too, which means I don't care if you are or not and I'll sometimes eat meat (pork excepted) myself but mostly don't.
Six things I could never do without
Friends, family, my cuddly black cat (that is not a euphemism for anything, FYI), self-expression, the internet, writing.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Oxford commas and HTML. Yes, really.
On a typical Friday night I am
Mostly relaxing after a long week of work-related and exercise craziness. Sometimes going on dates.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a lot snarkier in photos and writing than I am in person ...until you get to know me, I mean.

I am also a bit shy about the idea of messaging guys I think are cute, even though I know it's a bit silly. Rating people highly is my passive way of saying I'm interested. I know I need to grow a pair (uh, literally?) and just start messaging but...yeah, well, I'm working on it.
You should message me if
You're an intelligent, articulate guy who doesn't have a hang-up about the idea of dating or being friends with someone who's transitioning.

You have an idea for a fun activity you think would be made even better with a companion.

You have any inclination to do so whatsoever? Yeah, let's go with that.
The two of us