andygateslondon
28 London, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
andygateslondon
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
5'10", blue eyes, dark hair, Midland born and London living account manager for a software firm. I've been living here for a good five years now, and I'm still finding new places to go out and enjoy. I've been involved in amateur dramatics quite heavily in recent years, but also enjoy exploring some of our fine museums, days out to other fun places, cooking, brewing a nice IPA and generally having a good time. I know several absolutely god-awful puns, but occasionally I make a good joke. INFJ and happy with it (for all the Myers-Briggs fans out there!)

I recently bought a bike and it's now my favourite thing ever.

I know all the words to the elephant love medley from Moulin Rouge, and can make cakes so if you want someone to both sing and bake with, get in touch. I do enjoy a pint and watching a bit of sport, but I believe it's more than possible to do that without being a misogynist idiot.

Looking for someone to hang out and experience great things with, to chat to, to laugh with and to get inspired by. I've met some people from OKC before and everyone so far has been really interesting and we had a good time, so hoping that trend continues!

(Updated June 2016)
What I’m doing with my life
Enjoying it! Work on weekdays in a job I enjoy, rehearse a play every few months. I have a great set of friends, a loving family, I like where I live. Yeah, life is pretty good right now. Someone besides this to share some time with would be a wonderful addition. I believe it's vital a person is happy with their own life before getting into someone else's.
I’m really good at
Taking things in context. Whenever something happens, you should stop and look around. Understand the context of things.

Using #hashtags ironically.

Singing Disney songs.

I'm also an ok character actor apparently, I know two chess jokes, and I make a rather good beef Wellington, amongst other dishes.
The first things people usually notice about me
The somewhat nervous and bewildered look on my face. Meeting people takes courage!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: now trying to read more classical literature. Have enjoyed some Bronte, Austen and Fitzgerald so far, but if you have a library and you're happy to lend me more books that would be great. Alternatively, let's visit a second hand bookshop. I've recently been re-reading the "His Dark Materials" trilogy. It's still exceptional.

Movies: Pans Labyrinth, Shawshank redemption (I may cry when Morgan Freeman says "I just hope I see my friend again"), all the Chris Nolan films, Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind, The Artist, Infernal affairs, Captain Philips, the Bryan Singer X-Men films, the Naked Gun trilogy....so many more besides this. I'm attempting to watch the entire IMBD top 250. About 50% of the way there.

(And hello to Jason Isaacs)

Telly: West Wing, Game of Thrones, Homeland, Father Ted, Have I Got News For You, 24, Slings and Arrows, House of Cards.

Show: all the Shakespeare. Matilda is the best musical on currently. Like to go and see random small studio pieces. If it's directed intelligently with a good concept, and the cast work hard, I'll probably enjoy it.

Music: Classical Rock, such as Fleetwood Mac, as well as more modern dance music to run to.

Food: All the food. Mexican, Indian and pie are three particular favourites but I like to cook and eat most styles of cuisine. Coriander is the devil in herb form.
The six things I could never do without
A cup of tea, preferably green or mint.
A creative project.
Laughter.
Inspiration.
Google - it knows everything.
My awesome family and friends.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I think a lot about saying amusing things and just trying to make things a little more fun. Do enjoy talking about more political, moral and ethical things providing its in a very comfortable non-judgemental environment. Healthy and respectful debate is a very good thing, and ultimately it can make both participants better and more understanding in everyday life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Rehearsing/Directing for a new play, or meeting friends down the pub. Quite often I combine the two. Either that or I'm at home cooking food and watching a good film. At weekends I like to go and see cool stuff (such as exhibitions or shows), or maybe watch some sport on the telly. It really depends. Routine is for weekdays not weekends!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Me and my team might well have googled an answer or two in a pub quiz once, but I do feel exceptionally bad about this.
You should message me if
This sounds interesting to you, and you'd like to see what I'm like in person! Who knows what tomorrow brings? Maybe a car crash, maybe something good. I don't think you know what a person is like till you've talked to them or met them. Currently feel like I can date people either short term or long term, depending on what works between me and them. I'm a firm believer it takes two to tango, so no worries or disrespect if you don't want to speak to me or meet me.

References possibly available on request.

Oh, to avoid confusion, my surname isn't actually Gates.
More