annalikesbeans
36 Cambridge, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
annalikesbeans
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I finished my PhD in sociology a year ago (hurrah!) and I'm now working on a research contract in London.

I'm always up for going on actions/demos (eg UK uncut, any lefty marches, etc). So, if this floats your boat, message me with an idea for an action we can do as a date. I call this 'dactivism' - date activism - it's going to really catch on soon; you heard it here first! Failing that, I'm always up for walking up pretty hills (a problem, living where I do).

In a past life I was a classical musician, now I play a bit of folk/hillbilly cello. My last big holiday was in Sri Lanka, going to Japan soon and thinking about Jerusalem. I like walking for a long time. I'm thinking of doing the Dales Way next.

Oh, and I like eating, and drinking, and all the usual stuff.
What I’m doing with my life
Working a bit more than I would like. Getting people and organisations to talk about the things that are too difficult to talk about. Trying to get a book contract. I have a regular (Buddhist) meditation practice.

I read a lot, and see my friends a lot. We had a great house party recently with a silent disco and a fire.
I’m really good at
flirting, striking up conversations with random people, sleeping, eating, laughing.
The first things people usually notice about me
My stunning beauty (according to my flatmate...). Ok, maybe that I smile at strangers. I'm also rather direct, in a way that the English sometimes find to be a bit of a shock (I'm from NZ but I've been over here for quite a long time now).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favourite book is Middlemarch. I like 19th century literature, feminist sci-fi and contemporary fiction, as well as non-fiction around social and political issues.

Films... I'd like a film buddy, as I can't seem to sit through one on my own. The important thing is that I hate French films but generally like everything else as long as it isn't violent or suspenseful.

Music - trying to diversify my music taste at the moment. I'm not playing much at the moment, other than for activist purposes, and teaching my seven-year-old niece the violin.

I cook - mostly vegetarian.
The six things I could never do without
books
good coffee
friends
hills
sea
meditation
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how to communicate ideas to my students; how to fit all the things I want to do into a finite amount of time; what is the yummiest possible thing I can think of to have for dinner?; whether it is acceptable to use a semi-colon after a question mark; what the time difference to New Zealand is at the moment; whether non-monogamy is possible/desirable (hint: I'm up for whatever the person I want to be with is up for); when is the next train to London?
On a typical Friday night I am
at the pub or cooking for friends
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I find these profiles encourage more 'I' sentences than I am comfortable with.
You should message me if
- you have a strong sense of silliness and will often mercilessly mock yourself. This is by far the most important thing.
- you're all good with feminism
- you're politically engaged (or would like to be)
- I'm particularly up for meeting a lover/partner who I can do outdoorsy things like walking, #microadventures, skinny dipping with. (I do cycle but only round town at the moment.)
- I have a penchant for gobby northerners who don't take any shit
More