29Minneapolis, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi, I’m Anne. I just recently moved to Minnesota, so I’m looking to meet some new people! I grew up in Southern California and went to undergrad in Pennsylvania, studying English, Philosophy, and Political Science at Lehigh University. Now I’m going to law school in the city! Education is obviously pretty important to me, as is swimming. I swam competitively for 16 years, through college. I love it and it will always be a big part of my life. That’s pretty much what I’ve focused on in my life so far; my big three have been family, school, and swimming. Now that I’ve quit swimming, I’m hoping to find a more serious relationship with someone and to find other activities that I like! Anyway, I’m having a great time getting to know Minneapolis, and I would love to continue to explore fun things to do around here, maybe with you!
What I’m doing with my life
Like I said, I’m going to law school right now, my first year, so going to class and reading take up a good portion of my life. I am also a swim coach for a local team, and I love it! The kids are awesome, I get paid way too much, and I still get to be on the pool deck!
I’m really good at
I was fairly good at swimming, relatively speaking. I’m a pretty good writer. I am an amazing finder. Seriously. Whenever someone in my family lost something in the house, I could always find it. I’m good at organizing things. I think I’m a really good friend; my best friend had a really tough year last year and I was by her side or just a phone call away through it all. I will always be there to help and support the people I care about. I am also really good at being late. I run on Cuban time (I'm half Cuban, and I know you can't tell!); it’s a struggle to be on time for things. Woops!
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m not really sure. You should tell me! Maybe that I’m pretty short? Or hopefully my eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I’ll try to keep these lists down!

Books (and plays): The Lovely Bones, The Glass Castle, Water for Elephants, Lucky, Night, The Devil in the White City, Romeo and Juliet, A Streetcar Named Desire, The Great Gatsby, To Kill a Mockingbird, The God of Small Things, and many many more!

Movies: The Hangover, 500 Days of Summer, Love Actually, Black Swan, Sex and the City, Harry Potters, On the Waterfront, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Knocked Up, 10 Things I Hate About You, Fools Rush In, etc. Basically I love comedies, romantic comedies, and dramas.

TV Shows: One Tree Hill, Gossip Girl, The Vampire Diaries, Nikita, True Blood, Grey’s Anatomy, Sex and the City, Pretty Little Liars, Law and Order: SVU, Top Chef, Friends, Scrubs, etc. Yes, I like fun, girly, overly-dramatic shows; deal with it :)

Music: The Killers, Florence and the Machine, Rilo Kiley, Warpaint, Best Coast, The Temper Trap, Jenny and Johnny, Kings of Leon, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Mumford and Suns, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Drake, Rihanna, Far East Movement, Kid Cudi, No Doubt, and others.

Food: I will try almost anything. Food is amazing, and great food is the best.
Six things I could never do without
Family and friends (aka love), iPhone (it’s literally ALWAYS with me), my car, laptop/internet, swimming, and books
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I mostly think about the day-to-day stuff: what do I have to read for my classes; what pool am I working at today; how is my family doing today. But I think a lot about my future too: what kind of law I want to practice; where do I want to live; who will I end up with; how I’m going to juggle being a lawyer, a wife, and a mother. I also think about social/political issues a lot. I am quite liberal and passionate about things like equality, justice, human rights, love. If that is going to bother you, we probably won’t work out, sorry! But hopefully, you’ll be open-minded too and care about the issues plaguing people around the world!
On a typical Friday night I am
Well, I work until about 8:30pm on Fridays, and after a long week at school, I usually just want to eat yummy food and curl up in bed and watch TV. Sometimes I’ll go out with friends to bars or restaurants if I don’t work Saturday morning. Saturdays are my usual nights out though.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m really open about basically anything; I probably share more than people want to know! It’s kinda weird telling something through a website though. Um… I’m a pleaser. I thrive on praise and positive reinforcement, and, consequently, hate disappointing people or getting people angry at me. I do do things for myself, such as going to law school, but I also still try to impress my parents with everything I do, even though I know they love me unconditionally. It usually pushes me to do the best I can and be the best I can be, but I also burden myself with too much pressure and become either a bit conceited when I think I did great or become unreasonably hard on myself when I think I failed.
You should message me if
You want to! And hopefully you do! I’m definitely looking to meet fun, nice, smart guys who want to get to know me and show me around Minnesota! :)
The two of us