annesanspants
25 Ashfield, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
annesanspants
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Interested in cultivating a culture of honesty, respect, and awareness. Even-keeled weirdo, women's college grad, pragmatic radical, stoner, foodie, local agriculture enthusiast, occasional artist, and child at heart. I like critters of all sorts, often more than people.

I'm also non-monogamous, and tend to be very affectionate. I live with my primary partner and our cattle dog, Leche. Chances are we'd all like to hang out with you, and if you're not comfortable meeting my partner then we probably won't be seeing much of each other. I have a number of partners spread all over the place, but since my last soul-crushing job occupied all hours of the last 15 months I can't say I've maintained those partnerships as well as I'd liked.

Looking to find some community!
What I’m doing with my life
Since graduating from Mount Holyoke back in 2013 with a degree in biology I've thrown myself into the world of sustainable farming. My hands are perpetually tough, dirty, and cut to shit. I've done my share of weeding and harvesting fruits and vegetables, but love working with livestock even more. I've milked goats, tended to sheep, gave many back scratches to hogs, caught far too many loose chickens, pulled calves, and plenty of other things you may or may not wish to hear about. I started out working with stock out in western mass, hopped back home to NH for a year and a half managing a herd of dairy cattle on a grass-based whole diet CSA farm, and now I'm headed back to western mass where I'll be managing the herd at a fairly well-known farm that makes the best darn yogurt around!
At some point in my life I'd really love to live in a sustainable community of some sort. If I ever gather all the necessary skills I'd totally build my own tiny house. I've been offered the opportunity to start my own microdairy back in my hometown, so that's a possibility for the near future... the idea of settling down so soon and so close to home is a little terrifying...
I’m really good at
Keeping an open mind and giving people the benefit of the doubt.
Kissin'
Making weird faces, voices, and sound effects
Making friends with animals
Wrasslin' folks and critters
Eating with my hands even when it's not appropriate
Being shy and awkward
Entertaining myself
Running around in the woods
Identifying birds
Cooking and baking
Eating. Really, really good at eating.
Giving massages
Forgetting everything except the things that don't matter
Being a space cadet
Writing lists
Procrastination
Living in the moment

Things I'm terrible at:
Introducing myself
Making small talk
Recalling memories on command
Staying in touch with people from a distance
The first things people usually notice about me
My god what is that smell?!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I don't read nearly as much as I used to, but some of my favorites include Clockwork Orange, The Alchemist, Animal Vegetable Miracle, Goat Song, Sabriel, Watership Down, The Handmaid's Tale, Foe, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I need to read more. Been listening to more books, which is easier on my attention span. Recently finished Amanda Palmer's The Art of Asking and The Invention of Nature, which were both awesome. All the feels through both of them, as different as they are.

Movies: Blues Brothers, Children of Men, The Royal Tenenbaums, Death to Smoochy, Kung Fu Hustle, House of Flying Daggers, Blade Runner, Rang De Basanti, Matilda, Princess Mononoke, Silence of the Lambs, Rocky Horror. I have a hard time watching horror movies... but I'm always down for nature documentaries! When I was a kid I would sing and dance along with Cats and whenever my parents asked what I wanted to watch it was usually Lion King or Dragonheart. Poor them.

Shows: I hardly watch TV. If I have access to cable I jump to the cooking channels. Sometimes I watch cartoons like Bob's Burgers, Archer, Adventure Time, or anime. Not really one who follows shows without another person being like "omg you have to watch this with me"...

Music: I listen to just about anything, though it does depend on my mood. Classical, heavy metal, jazz, r&b, hip-hop, folk, old stuff, new stuff, whatever. My fallback is usually bluegrass.

Food: I'll admit, I'm a food snob. But I'll also eat just about anything and everything—waste not, want not! I've eaten plenty of offal and haven't been disgusted by anything yet... well, kidneys taste of piss and I prefer my liver pureed, but y'know. I love animals and I also love to eat them (preferably humanely and locally raised, even more preferably by my own hand), although I respect those who don't.
Just keep the mangos, cashews, and sumac away because I really don't care for itchy lips and assholes. Nobody likes an itchy asshole.
The six things I could never do without
-well-sourced food
-friendly critters
-a fine view of the stars
-forest
-independence
-humor
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What to eat/make for dinner.

How to not be socially awkward around people I think are cute...

All the things I should be doing instead of sitting on my ass.

Nothing. I'm usually just observing and appreciating the things I see. Semi-nonverbal visual creature.

Why things work the way they do.

What kind of tree/bird/rock is this?!

How beautiful the clouds/mountains/bit of lichen etc. are at the time.

How to be a better person/friend/partner.
On a typical Friday night I am
Going to bed early to wake up for milking time. Maybe playing a board game or teaching my pup a new trick. Smoking a bowl and trading massages. Laying out under the stars.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I was adopted at birth and finally got in touch with my biological family back in September 2013. I visited a bunch of them in Austin in February 2014 and it was pretty darn awesome. Went back for March 2015. Looks like Austin is a city I'll find myself in often in the future, so hit me up if you're from there or have recommendations for things to do/see/eat.
You should message me if
Let me tell ya, I will definitely not respond if all you say is "hey, how are you?"

If you want to get together and chat over a coffee about queer things, food, science, growing vegetables, animal husbandry, art, polyamory, how to change the world, etc. —SWEET DO IT. I like meeting new people! I prefer outdoor adventures to being stuck in a booth somewhere, but whatever's clever.

I have a bias for good spelling and grammar which I'm working on deconstructing.

Racists, Sexists, Homophobes, etc need not apply. On the other hand, if you want to talk about oppression, let's. I've been missing those dialogues.

Also, I can be shy and sometimes hate sending the first message, so don't be like me...

Aaand if I don't respond immediately, I'm sorry! I get a fair number of thoughtful messages (and a lot of shite, as well) and I get a little bogged down/overwhelmed and let them sit around for a while before I buckle down and bust out a bunch of replies. Definitely have some solid messages from a year ago that I haven't touched yet... I'm sorry! But also not sorry, because this is OKC and I have a life to live.
More