46Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am an interesting individual who is open-minded and is comfortable being with any sane person. I enjoy being outdoors when the weather is nice. I appreciate attending festivals, movies, plays or anything engaging. I like talking about a variety of subjects from "politricks" to food. I have a great sense of humor and I look forward to meeting different types of people. I can be comfortable with others or by myself.

I also love to travel and have been to Central and South America, the Caribbean, West and now most recently South Africa. Stateside, I've been to about 10 states in the US and would love to visit all before leaving the planet.

I am Creative, Funny, and Laid Back
What I’m doing with my life
I am a social worker. I provide counseling and concrete services for children and families. Although the work is challenging I enjoy it and it gives me a sense of purpose. Social Work teaches me something new everyday about myself and the human experience. There's never a dull moment, a dry eye or a day without laughter. I actually believe that if you are truly living a balanced life in which you are inspired by and which impacts others then you are a "practicing social worker".

As I have matured as an only child I have learned to appreciate my parents. I actually don't mind chilling with them. (Don't start tripping I got my own place.) Maturity has taught me to appreciate the wealth of experience that my parents or the elders in community has to offer. I guess in a way I'm that young brotha with an Ole Soul, can you dig.

I recently rediscovered exercise. I would like to get into YOGA consistently or how about just consistently exercise. Being the new 20+ feels wonderful. I am at the cusp of being young and old school all at once. I am really inspired by folks who are older and are in great shape mentally, physically and spiritually. I am a late bloomer but I'm finally at peace with this reality. I feel great about myself although I can be my worst critic. I enjoy being around others that value growth as well.

I'm generally open-minded and enjoy learning and trying something at least once. If it's nice do it more than twice....
I’m really good at
I am really good at being a sounding board for ideas.
I can be assertive when I need to be.
I enjoy being creative and spontaneous.
I can also plan things or just "chicken wing it" when necessary.
I love networking and can easily fit in most environments.
I love learning how to cook new dishes. I'm the master of fixing up a lil sumtin' sumtin...
I have a healthy sense of humor and I can be sarcastic.
The first things people usually notice about me
My easy going nature. The ability to connect and just being genuine!
I can make people laugh and think all at the same time. I'm the cool cucumber like Obama, but can get oops upside ya head like Richard Pryor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
All time favs: Down these Mean Streets, Piri Thomas; The Beautiful Struggle, T.Coates; Makes Wanna Holler, Nathan McHale and the autobiography of Malcolm X

Recently I read Outliers, by Malcolm Gladwell. I'm still trying to get through Tipping point. Little Bee, Chris Cleave. Last Words, by George Carlin (must read if you're a fan) and finally I just picked up Some of My Best Friends are Black, Tanner Colby

I also like reading magazines or newspapers or any Health or life style magazines.

My playlist on Pandora is quite eclectic: 60's - 70 Soul & R&B, Rock, Doo Woop, Jazz, New Age, Spoken Word, Hip Hop, House, Brazilian, African, Reggae, Bollywood and other "Worldly Music". I also listen to all the comedy stations.

Movies: Indies, Comedies, Action flicks & docume

I also enjoy listening to NPR & WBAI and watching alternative media like Link Tv
and Current Tv

Plays: Fela, Passing Strange, Clybourne Park, Stick Fly, All's Well that ends Well. I'm a fan of Off and On Bway or anything involving the performing arts.

Food: Just about anything - Caribbean, Latin, Asian, American or other world cuisines. I'm open to trying it as long as its well cooked and not moving!
Anyone who likes Sushi is a great lover! (you qualify for the bonus if you know why ;)
Six things I could never do without
1. Love
2. Food
3. Exercise
4. Family
5. Knowledge
6. Friends
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where I will be in the future.
Advancing my career: Private Practice...ultimate goal
Creating a family with at least two children and if not having an amazing woman to share my life with!
Taking care of my family
My health and well being spirituality
On a typical Friday night I am
I'm generally home on-line, listening to music or the radio, watching a movie or I might hang out once in a while with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't know yet!
You should message me if
Healthy: mind, body and spirit
and overall happy about life!

I like someone who can hold a good conversation, is assertive, and has ambition. Takes care of themselves physically, emotionally and spiritually. I like a woman who can go from tomboy to vixen with rhythm and ease. Intelligent not arrogant, grounded yet classy queen with a wicked sense of humor. I at least strive to possess most of these qualities of course in the male version. Nobody is perfect so no matter what just be yourself baby. The truth comes out when it's supposed to.
The two of us