48 Ottawa, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am smarter than the average bear. I'm ggg and open minded - not simple minded. I had my kiddo later in life so I am not able to flit off at a moment's notice. I have my priorities straight and I abhor brussel sprouts. I think all people are created equal and that everyone deserves equal rights - not separate - equal! I believe in social justice, personal responsibility and the principal of Occam's razor. I can't go see a movie at a theater without consuming popcorn. Star Trek before Star Wars. Sundays = breakfast out.
What I’m doing with my life
I have a pretty great life, good job, wonderful child and lifelong friends. I work for a local not-for-profit organization and I'm lucky to say that after 20+ years I still love my job. I'm a single mom and that takes up a lot of my free time but I'd like to carve out space for a more personal connection with a partner. I'm not in a hurry to jump into a serious relationship but that is my end goal. I think healthy relationships take time to develop.
I’m really good at
Honesty, Scrabble, being a Mom, making reservations as opposed to cooking (ok, I can technically cook...but it is not passion of mine), map reading, playing Devil's advocate, reading aloud, defending something I believe in.
The first things people usually notice about me
I smile a lot. I'm opinionated but very much interested in what you have to say. I'm sarcastic but not mean. I'm adventurous and open-minded.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
The Stand, The 9 parts of Desire, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Sliding Doors, Widow's Peak, Trainspotting, Anything Star Trek or Sci Fi ish...Bad sci fi is better than no sci fi, Depeche Mode, Mumford & Sons, Divine Fits, Florence & the Machine, Jimmy George.

Food...Thai, Indian, SUSHI!, french fries, pretty much anything except heavy doses of Chinese or Pho. Love the Lonestar, or a good peanut butter and banana sandwich.
The six things I could never do without
My child, knowledge, healthy discourse, beer, sunshine, library card and toilet paper. Yes...I can count but I'm an over achiever on lists.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Why are people so threatened by people/cultures that are different from their own? On what level did I park my car? Where can I travel to next? Why are aquarium fish so damn hard to keep alive?
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging with my offspring or going to a movie.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I had beer and cotton candy for dinner tonight...this can't be good.
You should message me if
Like me, you want a monogamous relationship. You have a profile picture...seriously, you are on a dating site...not an MI5 recruiting website, put up a public picture already! You live in/near Ottawa. I'm way too old to want a penpal...You don't describe yourself as "looking younger" etc - be ok with whatever age you are, that is sexy - not desperately trying to be 10 years younger than you are. You get along well with kids and animals. Your friends/co-workers would describe you as a down to earth, kind, a really good guy. You are intelligent but can be goofy. You like to hold hands and are affectionate. You believe in equal rights for all, of course including LGBT. You are not looking for someone to "complete you". I am complete, I hope you are too...