63 Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm highly intelligent, knowledgeable and articulate, but don't let that put you off! I am very fit - fitter than most guys half my age. I used to be a good runner and did dozens of marathons including the first ten Londons. Was in the world top 500 with 2hrs 36mins back in the old days, but turned to cycling in recent years - serious club road cycling. I like to keep fit, and my body does not show my age. I used to be quite good looking, but it went downhill after 40. Dark hair turned grey - quite depressing, though many say they like it. I don't!
Personality-wise I'm not good in social situations, but once you get to know me, I'm quite nice. I'm kind and considerate, I like to please, and I've got strong ethics, although I have a rather broad-minded attitude to sex, as the questions reveal. I have strong left-wing views, and stood for the Greens in the elections.
I was a college lecturer for many years, but left to start my own business. Liked teaching and the students, but tired of the useless management, and commuting. I also was a DJ, in the days of vinyl and without computers to do the mixing for you. I'm good on the dance floor, and a sucker for karaoke.
I was married for about thirty years and have three daughters and a sprinkling of granddaughters. My wife went off sex after the birth of our youngest, and, when I resorted to extra-curriculum activity, there was no forgiveness. I moved out and was replaced by a Golden Retriever (more faithful). Fair enough.
I love the sunshine and have a dream of living in Spain or France, which I love, but would prefer to do this with a partner.
I may add to this some more in due course. That's if I don't get run over on a training ride first.
PS. Since writing that I got hit by a car. Survived with only minor injury.
What I’m doing with my life
Cycling, dreading the winter, and planning escape.
Spending far too much time on social media plugging the Green Party and exposing the Tories' lies.
Separated from my wife and looking for a partner.
I’m really good at
Cycling, though not as good as I was. I used to be a good runner.
DIY - I'm Mr fix-it. Not electronics or computers, though.
Cursing inanimate objects when they don't behave.
Awesome sense of humour.
Stickler for correct English.
The first things people usually notice about me
Never asked.
Probably my garish lycra cycling gear, especially when I'm shopping in Waitrose.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
MOVIES: Good movies - not necessarily the blockbusters. Matrix, Alien, ok. Not Avatar. Happy endings - the Richard Curtis ones, Sleepless in Seattle, Bridgette Jones...that sort of thing. Original Pink Panthers have me in stitches. Revenge ones: Taken, Falling Down.
TV: News, documentaries, comedy, Cycling! Not soaps, sitcoms, or reality shows, and can only take so many crass adverts insulting my intelligence before I have to switch. A bit embarrassed to admit that my daughter has got me hooked on Big Bang Theory.
MUSIC: Used to be a DJ and still like disco, club classics. Not rock, I'm afraid.
FOOD: YES - avid consumer, esp Italian
The six things I could never do without
My bike, sunshine, sex, my VW van (174hp rocket), ......that's four things. Erm.. good health, proper coffee. There we are - six.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The answer to life, the universe and everything........especially the universe.
When will the public wake up to the lies and corruption of the present government.
On a typical Friday night I am
On Friday night I am mostly eating taramasalata (you need to be familiar with The Fast Show to get this.)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I get to know you better.
You should message me if
my profile appeals to you.
and if you can get over preconceptions of age barriers. (I'm fitter than most guys half my age, despite the fact I smoke.)