31Orlando, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
A lot has changed since I last updated my profile. I'll slowly be editing it over the next week or so.

I was born and raised in Southern Louisiana. I am truly a child of the deep south. I don't have much of an accent unless I've just been talking to someone from back home, and then it can get pretty thick. I moved to Orlando a few years back to work for Disney. I've since moved on from Disney but I've pretty much settled down here in Central Florida and don't think I'll be leaving anytime soon. I've got a few good friends here and a church I love.

I love to cook and I think I'm pretty good at it too. Growing up where I did, I do tend to be heavy with the spices. I also don't know how to cook for much less than a small army.

I'm a bit of a scifi nerd. I love Doctor Who and the Big Bang Theory. I also love Star Trek and Star Wars. Just don't ask me to choose which is the better of the two. (Ok, so if I really had to choose I lean a bit more to the Trekkie side...) I'm also a big fan of geeky board games.

I'm a Christian and fairly serious about it. That being said, I'm also not one to push my world views onto others. That doesn't do anything more than push people away. I will, however, discuss what I believe with you in a calm manner if you ask me about it. I'm fairly liberal in my political beliefs. Other than that, I'm pretty much an open book, all you have to do is ask.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently in a period of transition. Before that I was working at Whole Foods Market and before that Disney. I'm trying to decide if I want to try and go back to school and finish my degree.

I have a few friends in town and I'm looking to make some more. I'd like to eventually find someone to settle down with and have a family. I love children and would ideally like to have two or three. Until then, I'm just going to enjoy the journey.
I’m really good at
I'm a great listener. I'm also a pretty good cook. I love to bake, though I tend to go a bit overboard. I don't really know how to cook for less than a small army.
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes. And my smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love fantasy novels. Especially ones with a strong female lead character. Growing up Tamora Pierce's Tortall series was one of my favourites. Susan Cooper's The Dark is Rising sequence and Robin McKinley's The Blue Sword are also favourites of mine. Other books I love are Good Omens, the Dresden Files, and the Anita Blake series. Honestly I'll read anything that I can get my hands on. I'm currently working my way through the Death novels in Terry Pratchett's Discworld.

My favourite movies are A Love Song for Bobby Long, Labyrinth, Lady Hawke, The Princess Bride, Boondock Saints, pretty much any cheesy eighties fantasy movie, and Star Wars (the original series). Television wise i tend to watch crime dramas and scifi. I love all the incarnations of Star Trek (except Enterprise) though TNG and DS9 are my favourites of the bunch. I also love British television, the new Doctor Who and Sherlock being my favourites at the moment.

I'm not all that fond of "popular" music. You won't ever find me listening to top twenty stations. I love music from the sixties and seventies as well as independent artists. I also have a fondness for all sorts of country music. Some of my favourites artists/bands are Crosby, Stills, and Nash, CCR, Dar Williams, Loreena Mckennitt, Ani Difranco, James Taylor, Queen, and Grayson Capps, just to name a few. I also love me some Johnny Cash. I recently found Anais Mitchell and her folk opera Hadestown and promptly fell in love. You should go listen to it right now, starting with the song Why We Build the Wall. Seriously, go now. I'll wait. Right now my radio is pretty much always tuned to the local Christian music station, with an occasional change to a country station.

I grew up in the New Orleans area. I love spicy food. I'm incredibly picky about my seafood. I tend to think seafood isn't good unless it came off a boat a few hours ago. I love ethnic foods of all types. Pretty much the only thing that I won't eat is pork (not for religious reasons, I just don't like the taste).
Six things I could never do without
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Life. The universe. Everything.
On a typical Friday night I am
Typically these days I'm either at home reading or watching tv and knitting. I like to go out though I'm not really much of a hard partier. Don't really have a lot of people here in town to hang out with and I'm not much for going out about town alone.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I really love to read cheesy romance novels. I know that they're nothing but pure and utter fluff, but I can't seem to help myself. Also, this might make me a bad geek, but I'm not overly fond of Lord of the Rings.
You should message me if
You want to talk more. You like what you see and would like to meet up. You've found a grammar mistake somewhere in my profile. You want someone to play a geeky board game with. I'm currently racking up quite a collection of games I see on Tabletop and want to play. I have a group I play with on Thursday nights, but I'm always looking for more people to play games with.

If you are looking for a roommate.

Please do not message me if you are in an open relationship, looking for an open relationship, or simply looking for sex.
The two of us