avery406
45 Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
avery406
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
The only thing harder to write than a self-summary is a cover letter. I'm a writer by profession (journalist, not novelist), so you'd think writing about myself wouldn't be quite so excruciating. I've never climbed Everest or lived in 20 different countries but I have hosted an "Attack of the 50 Ft. Woman", "Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure" & "Cannibal Women from the Avocado Jungle of Death" film festival. I enjoy people and I try to be a good, loving friend. I have great friends in my life and I appreciate that for the gift that it is.
I grew up in North Carolina and still believe there's nowhere more beautiful than Chapel Hill in the Spring. And the Fall.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a journalist in a city that's positively crawling with them. I will admit that I was embarrassingly excited about riding the train underneath the US Capitol the first time I got my Capitol Hill media pass. It's the little things, you know?

I take spin classes and hate every second of it but I do it anyway. I know all my neighbors by their dogs' names.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall for a woman, about 5'9". I'm still the shortest person in my family, though.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:
Sense & Sensibility
In A Sunburned Country or anything else by Bill Bryson

Movies:
Bull Durham --it's set in my hometown and I was in the ballpark for some of the scenes.
Casablanca -- everything about it is perfect
The Philadelphia Story

Music:
U2, motown, beach music, pretty much anything but contemporary country. (George Jones: yes. Shania Twain: no.)
The six things I could never do without
Family
friends
unlimited long distance
books
laughter
college basketball
I spend a lot of time thinking about
whether I'm doing enough with my life. Where I want to be and where I want to go.
On a typical Friday night I am
out with friends. We could be bowling or having a potluck at someone's house or at a nice dinner.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a knitter. No, I do not have gray hair or grandchildren. I enjoy creating tangible items with my hands. I used to make stained glass panels but yarn doesn't leave me with slivers all over my apartment.
You should message me if
anything about me intrigues you. I'm friendly.
More