bagofshore
28 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
bagofshore
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi there, I've always wanted to go to Burning Man or Tomorrowland even though I'm not big into raves or deserts. Join me? In other news, I'm weird and kind. I'm also shy so I rarely message people first just because I have issues with rejection, even in a semi-anonymous online environment. I like to chat though so hit me up!
What I’m doing with my life
Doing a PhD at the University of Nottingham. I get to travel a lot, keep flexible times, and write and read to my heart's content. I get paid for this, which still shocks me.

Besides that I love to be active. I hike and swim and play squash. I love to feel and hear my heartbeat, it's a spiritual thing for me. I consider swimming meditation, haven't tried yoga yet. Do I need to be able to put my legs behind my head for that? If that's a requirements I have to find something else. Disco yoga? Merges my love for 90s Eurodance and flailing around with my body.
I’m really good at
being weird. Also cooking and organizing events and planning trips and petting dogs and getting angry with cats.
The first things people usually notice about me
I get by unnoticed except when I decide to dye my hair blue or pink. Right now it's red but that will change soon. It changes every two months. I constantly have to update this section. At some point I want bright orange. COLORS!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: Clueso, Snow Patrol, 30 Second to Mars, Family of the Year, Coldplay, Augustana, Band of Horses, Boy, Birds of Tokyo, Damien Rice, Eddie Vedder, Florence + The Machine, Half Moon Run, Fun., Incubus, Joseph Arthur, London Grammar, Of Monsters and Men, Söhne Mannheims, Walk the Moon.

TV: Stranger Things, True Detective, Aquarius, Twin Peaks, Archer, BoJack Horseman, Fargo, The West Wing, House of Cards, South Park, Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, Battlestar Galactica, Family Guy, Game of Thrones, most things HBO/Netflix really

Movies: The Way, Garden State, Numb, Waltz with Bashir, Milk, Seven Pounds, Eternal Sunshine Of The Spotless Mind, Nick And Norahs Infinite Playlist, Batman trilogy, The Hangover, All The Real Girls, The Go-Getter, A Guide To Recognizing Your Saints, Birds of America, Big Nothing, Gigantic, Reign Over Me, 500 Days Of Summer, Lord Of The Rings trilogy, New York-I Love You, Paris Je t'aime, Station Agent, Henry Poole Is Here, Marvel movies, It's Kind of a Funny Story, Boyhood, Way to Live Forever, Dallas Buyers Club, Howl, Kill Your Darlings, AND SO MUCH NETFLIX

Books: Tolkien, Pale Fire, House of Leaves, The Swimming-Pool Library, Flatland, The Bell Jar, Naked Lunch, The Atrocity Exhibition, The Mezzanine, Infants of the Spring, Bright Lights-Big City, The Crying Lot of 49, and otherwise mostly Sci-Fi/Fantasy or classics, something epic or something mysterious. I also love graphic novels (Blankets, Fun Home, Blacksad, Watchmen, The Contract with God trilogy, Persepolis, NGE, I Kill Giants, Daytripper)

Food: I love to cook and therefore I love to eat home-cooked meals. I love greek food, Mediterranean stuff and everything with lots of spices, herbs and greens in it. I often mix Asian and Middle Eastern cuisines.
The six things I could never do without
If I had to choose 6 things to take to a deserted island:
-a comfy bathrobe
-a journal with a pen to write stuff
-a dog to keep me company
-another dog to keep my dog company =)
-a cat to keep the dogs in check
-a blanket to keep the bunch of us warm at night
I spend a lot of time thinking about
traveling. I want to go backpacking in Japan so badly. Please be my travel buddy. We can try out camping in Canadian national parks first if you prefer. Or we can go island-hopping in SE Asia? Maybe a hiking trip in northern Norway? I'm up for pretty much anything. I can do cities too, love New York and Paris. I absolutely have to visit Berlin at some point since I've never been and it's a must for me as a German.
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing anything that is NOT writing my thesis. I can do Netflix, video games, anime, books, pubs, board games, escape rooms? I prefer activities with just few people but occasionally I can do bigger crowds. Very occasionally. Like for concerts. I want to see Beyonce.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm incredibly happy with my life but I don't show it. Also, people usually assume I work out to loose weight or get those sick abs but that's not really it. At some point I started running because there was this weird darkness behind me, chasing me. I could never quite make it out, I had to look forward and keep running, to get away. I kept doing this until I realized the darkness was suddenly in front of me. I looped all the way around and now I was chasing it. The closer I came, the more I realized what I was looking at. That's where I am now. Clear eyes, not loosing sight of my demons again. I run to save myself.
You should message me if
you want to be my travel buddy, friend, or more. Looking for someone to share my life with and/or go on adventures.
More