audiophile919
31 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
audiophile919
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hello! Nice to make your digital acquaintance.

I'm a recording engineer, as well as a lifelong musician. Aside from my skills in the classical and jazz genres, I am also an avid metalhead. I like to find ways to play all three genres at the same time.

I'm an unabashed nerd (in a variety of ways, including the occasional cosplay), an empath, delightfully awkward, the most extroverted introvert you'll ever meet, and a tried-and-true philomath. Coincidentally, philomath is also one of my favorite words.

I can be rather blunt and opinionated, but not in a way that is mean-spirited. I like saying what is on my mind, and highly respect and admire others who can do the same with similar tact.

I try to eat right, but I am also a total foodie. I tend to find that those are at odds with each other, and do my best to find a balance.

I'm a passionate person, and I very much enjoy talking about and sharing the things I find fascinating or exciting with others. I'm just as interested to hear about your passions, and share that excitement with you.

I talk a lot, and I enjoy being around people who are equally as chatty.

I'm originally from Virginia, but I'm not a southern guy, aside from my taste in food, and my relative intolerance for cold water at the beach.

I do not try to be anyone other than myself, and I promise to be that way with anyone I spend my time with.

ISFJ, right on the line with I and E.

I am witty, genuine, and random

TL;DR - go to my "message me if"!
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently working as an A/V Tech for Resorts World Casino in Queens, doing live sound and other assorted tech work. Eventually, I hope to lend my voice to some major production, teach music/recording arts at the university level, work in video game audio production/design, and/or be the sound engineer for a major venue or theater. I'm hoping that, if I play my cards right, I can achieve at least one of these in the next five years.

I have a Bachelors of Music in Double Bass Performance and a minor in Jazz Studies from Christopher Newport University. Still working on my Master of Music in Music Technology at NYU, and have just my thesis left to do. I'm not in a rush to finish, though, as I'm taking my time to do fulfilling work, and explore my options.

I'm also trying my hand at being a video game streamer. (Update: not streaming regularly at this point, but working on it!). I like having a legitimate reason to play games regularly, which is something I do anyway!
I’m really good at
Performing/writing/arranging/recording music, computers, photography, random/useless trivia. I plan my spontaneity.
The first things people usually notice about me
...or so people tell me, my eyes. They're hazel/green in the colder months, and bright green in the warmer months.

I have somewhat of a goofy laugh. It was described to me once as "...the most simultaneously genuine and fake belly laugh ever."

That I'm not hesitant to give my opinions, if the situation allows for it.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: original Star Trek movies (1-4; 6-10), Three Stooges, Marx Brothers, Jackass (all), Training Day, Baseketball, Indiana Jones (except Crystal Skull), Braveheart, The Patriot, Road House, National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation

Books: The Martian, Outliers, cheesy action novels, Wuthering Heights, Grapes of Wrath. I need to read more often.

Music: Mostly everything - no modern pop or contemporary christian, some country is good - Dream Theater, Periphery, Mudvayne, Vertical Horizon, The Reign of Kindo, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Jaco Pastorius, Dave Holland, Charles Mingus, Christian McBride, and Dave Brubeck.

Food: Natural citrus/berries and citrus/berry-flavored foods, chocolate, sushi, cheese. I have a particular fondness for Italian, Mexican, and Asian cuisine.
The six things I could never do without
Contacts/glasses (I'm blind without them).
My basses/guitars/drums
Recording gear/microphones (this includes a computer)
Family, friends, and the good times they bring.
A camera (still or video)
Lip balm (I have dry skin, so this is a must have)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Music, science, technology, my future, video games, money, bettering myself, funny/random stuff
On a typical Friday night I am
Working, typically. 'Tis part and parcel of the audio industry. Though, if I'm not working, you can typically find me watching my favorite streamers on Twitch.tv, on Netflix, working on my own music projects, or having a beverage with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a sucker for blue and/or green eyes, and freckles.

I enjoy watching/listening to ASMR eating/drinking videos on YouTube.

I really dig the tights with sneakers look on women.

Sex/kink, and body positive (I am a big fan of curves). GGG. Feel free to ask about those.
You should message me if
You're a girl who reads: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9vSansJel3g

You are a woman who is smart, strong, and is their own person - who has dignity and won't give it all away. You believe that a partner should balance and enrich your life, and not "complete" you. You value self-containment, self-reliance, and self-empowerment.

You're emotionally mature and expressive, intellectually curious, honest, kind, genuine, open-minded, and you know what you want (and aren't afraid to go for it). Nerdy/geeky is a big plus!

You are a sensual person, and actively crave sensuality (in the dictionary sense of the word).

You prefer staying in touch between dates. Not like that game you play with your pet, where you try not to catch each other staring, but instead it's a text message or the dial screen on your phone.

You find the latter funny.

Your baggage meets airline size requirements.

Some great advice, on dating, and life in general.
http://markmanson.net/fuck-yes

If you've made it this far!
More