52Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I loaded my car and I left Indiana where I grew up hours after finishing university and have had some great discoveries of life and culture outside of my small (but wonderful) environment in which I was raised. The more I discover about the world and the more I listen to different peoples perspectives, the more I see what I don’t know and it motivates me to try and keep an open mind and keep learning.
I love my job and my family and would like to find someone to share laughter and good times with.
My politics tend to lean toward the left more and more the longer I live, though I understand that is quite backwards. One of my goals is to someday own an apartment in the South West region of France within a couple hours of the border of Spain. I moved back to the SF from France after living for 4 years in Marseille and Bordeaux. I've lived most of my adult life in California. I am looking for someone both fun and serious who also likes the basic things I like such as travel, good food and experiencing some new things. I also look for someone with integrity and a strong character and intelligence is a big turn on for me. I am not interested in someone who is extreme in their religious beliefs or has far right political leanings. I am also not looking for anyone who is into nightclubbing and crazy late night partying, not that there is anything wrong with it, just those days are past for me…although I still like to get out to a restaurant bar or pub a couple of times per week.
What I’m doing with my life
Trying not to rush through it, enjoying every moment with the people I love and appreciating pleasure in the simple things
I’m really good at
communication in languages I don’t speak, problem solving, finding good pubs/restaurants while on the road, giving blood, listening (but not remembering), travel planning, being a friend, finding places to jog anywhere I go, and inventing games
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile, booming laugh (thanks grandpa) and my height (especially small grandmas on elevators) and that I look (and act) younger than my age
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Oscar Wilde, Marjane Satrapi, Truman Capote, Jon Krakauer, Le Petit Prince, Harper Lee
Music: The Smiths and Morrissey, Serge Gainsbourg, DJ Zebra, Interpol, Indochine, MC Scolaar, Ranuad, Kaiser Chiefs, Joy Division, Beastie Boys, Bonnie and the Clydesdales, Bebel and Astrud Gilberto
Food: Raclette (and any cheese!) tomatoes, burritos, Burmese, Pasta, pizza, bread, chow fun, deviled eggs, moms banana nut bread, coffee w chicory, falafel shawarma, Lap Pat Dok, canneles de BDX, olives
Films-1. Wizard of Oz (1939)
2. Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (1971)
3. It’s a Wonderful Life (1946)
4. One flew over the Cookoo’s Nest (1975)
5. Monty Pythons Holy Grail (1975)
6. Le Huitième Jour (the Eighth Day (1996)
7. Tommy Boy (1995)
8. What’s Eating Gilbert Grape? (1993)
9. My Own Private Idaho (1991)
10. The life of David Gale (2003)
Six things I could never do without
Family, Passport, Oakland Tool Lending Library, Hot summer days, Good Cheese, bread and Wine, The Smiths, Library card for DVD's, Spell Checker (I’m dyslexic in some ways to the point of absurdity)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
On a typical Friday night I am
Happy Hour or dinner with Friends in the city or an evening run and film at home
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I was ranked near the bottom of my class in High School, no one in Indiana had every really know what to do with a kid who wrote 1-25 in perfect penmanship if you held it up to a mirror. Somehow managed to survive my way through a pretty good major University
You should message me if
If you think we might have a great conversation and connection
The two of us