36Chester, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I get called big man a lot, usually by strangers when I'm in Scotland. I am called Wookie by one of my oldest friends, hopefully as I am loyal like one and less the threat to droids who beat me at chess. I'm not much of a drinker, I like an occasional good beer (American IPA or Scottish Ales). I'd rather go to a good gig and remember all the bruises I get in the mosh pit.

I learned Level 1 Sign Language and would really enjoy continuing with that if the opportunity arises.

I'm really into music and couldn't go a day without listening to it and not go mad, definitely a 6 music fan as they have a great mix of good music. I love going to gigs because of my music addiction. I'm into a lot of Indie and Rock bands and a lot of other diverse stuff but mostly guitar music and stuff along the lines of garage rock/blues etc. Loving the Black Keys, BRMC, Turin Brakes, Hundred Reasons, Laura Marling, AC/DC and Bombay Bicycle Club at the moment.

I am geeky, Mac/PC fixing, and music loving
What I’m doing with my life
I work in education mainly making Macs do what I tell them to do, sudo_stop_it_now. The trouble with them is they last too well and staff want an 8 year old one to keep working with modern software. Fixing PCs as they tend to go wrong quicker than the Macs. Updating flash and any other adobe software. Turning machines off then on again. Basically I work in IT mostly looking after Macs at the Arts campus of a Uni. I also use the excess heat in my office to grow and dry chillies.

Passing on the usage of high fives to the next generation. Teaching my nieces to pull faces when my sister isn't looking.

Saving for my own house.
I’m really good at
Fixing Mac software problems, turning computers off and on again, growing chillies from seed, procrastination, fixing tech set ups and cooking spicy food. This year have started a small growing plot on an allotment and my squash plant growing did well this year, pumpkin soup for Christmas.
The first things people usually notice about me
They have to look up at me as im 6'3", ears pierced 6 times, and 2 labrets on my bottom lip, the red beard and that I may have some Viking ancestry according to some work colleagues. Not too smartly dressed but not overly scruffy either. Usually wearing a geeky T-shirt if I'm in work as I'll be lying under tables fixing loose cables rather than chairing meetings on sales.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books; Chuck Palaniuk as well as Tom Holt, Dean Koontz, Ben Aaronovitch, Audrey Niffenegger, John Connolly, Michael Marshall, JK Rowling and Terry Pratchett.

Film; Fight Club, Dark Knight & Nolan's other work, Night Watch, Nightmare Before Christmas, Burton, Sin City, Marvel, Martial Arts and Simon Pegg.

TV; Community, Big Bang Theory, Flight of the Concords, Dexter, Heroes, Spaced, Black Books, Scrubs, Green Wing, Supernatural, and IT Crowd.

Music; AC/DC, Muse, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Hundred Reasons, The Black Keys, The White Stripes, The XX, Bombay Bicycle Club, Turin Brakes, Laura Marling, and The Dead Weather.

Really enjoy Mexican and Italian food especially home made versions of it which I make from scratch, my cooking is well known and appreciated by my friends I am always coming up with new ideas. I'm also trying more Chinese and Indian cooking too. This year I have been growing a lot of my own veg so home made pumpkin soup around Christmas.
Six things I could never do without
An occasional craft beer. Love the different Scottish ones my cousin introduces me to.
Books. Nothing better for exercising my imagination.
Computers. Wouldn't have a job without them.
My cat. She's a little monster sometimes but she's awesome, lost my old one this year and not having a cat for months was like I had a big hole in my life.
Music. In many forms live is always great and making it can be fun too.
Films. A good film can blow me away from things like Fight Club right through to Howl's Moving Castle and Toy Story.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The possibility of time travel, alternative realities and superpowers. How to make my work flow more efficient. Patterns in numbers and life, Fibonacci. Learning another martial art. Geeky stuff like new bits of tech. Trolley surfing in Ikea car parks, you need the big flat bed ones to do it right. Getting my niece to give me high fives. What food plants to grow next year and where I can sneak wild flowers in to grow at work. How many ducks would it take to overpower a horse. Why my cat thinks I want to wrestle when I'm asleep. How I'll wire up my own house with Ethernet to make good wired network. What album to listen to or book to read next. How many chillies I eat in a day.
On a typical Friday night I am
Chilling with the cat, watching a bit of TV and maybe cooking a good meal. Sometimes go to a gig, play some video games or I'll be reading a book. I don't tend to like going drinking on a Friday just prefer enjoying a night relaxing at the end of the week with a craft beer.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm different and not ashamed of it. I like being a little strange and random. I do tend to like my own company and putting on headphones to block out others noise/inane chatter/talking rubbish is a must when walking to town or around a supermarket. I have a strange sense of humour that some find odd. I'm day to day more of a home body than a partier.
You should message me if
You think i'm different in a way that interests you. You need tips on growing chillies. You like cats as I've always had one and couldn't not have one in my life. You need to get your computer fixed, oh hang on that's work, but my rates are good. You enjoy live music at small cool venues.
The two of us