38Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I like challenging hikes that lead to water views. Books that motivate you to stay in bed and read all day. Breakfast food for dinner. Lilacs. Meaningful work. Kayaking to the beach. When Democrats win. The Sunday NYT. Passionate, opinionated people. Handwritten letters. Long meals with old friends. Unabashed idealism coupled with pragmatism. Watching kids learn something new. Black and white photography. Foreign films. My grandmas. Down comforters. Racing into cold water. Spicy food. Being barefoot. Good talkers who are good listeners. Hammocks. Sitting face to the wind on the bow of boat. Exploring new hiking trails. Farmer's markets. Hopper and Picasso. The smell of orange blossoms in Sevilla. People who get their hands dirty. Coffee heath bar ice cream.
What I’m doing with my life
Enjoying the ride, surrounded by an amazing family and great friends.

I'm a lawyer at a non-profit child advocacy organization and I feel incredibly lucky to do work that means so much to me.

I finally bought a bike so I'm excited to be exploring DC bike paths this summer (although, I'm a New Englander so longer routes will be explored when it cools down!). I have a new community garden plot and I'm experimenting my way through the growing season -- what's better than eating those fresh cherry tomatoes still warm from the sun?
I’m really good at
Waking up early, sleeping late, napping -- depending on what my mood and the occasion call for.

Celebrating, assisting, consoling and just generally being there for friends.

Spending ALL day at the beach (it's my goal to be last person off the beach near my family's house on Cape Cod each day).

Championing a cause, passionately debating an issue.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have great curly hair. Also I talk very fast.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Currently on my nightstand: This is Where I Leave You (Jonathan Tropper); The Lacuna (Barbara Kingsolver - a favorite author); Handling One Another Along, Literature and Social Reflection (Robert Coles); Children of the Revolution, Growing up in Castro's Cuba (Luis Garcia - in preparation for an upcoming trip to Cuba!).

Pandora stations most recently used: Wilco, Dave Brubeck, Eva Cassidy, James Taylor (Sunday brunch music growing up), and Sugarland (after years of telling my sister no country music, somehow I've come around!)
Six things I could never do without
My family (I'm lucky they are people I'd chose as friends too)

Old friends (I've had the same best friend since infancy)

Sunday newspaper and good, strong coffee

Changing seasons -- long summer days, autumn leaves, the smell of winter air, the first warm spring day

Long beach days and the feeling you get when you first submerge in the ocean

My camera and a house full of photographs
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What to cook for dinner. How I want a house with a garden. How to build community. How to nurture and grow friendships, old and new. How lucky I am. When I can take my next international trip. How to improve the lives of low income children and families and make the world (or at least the District) a more equitable place.
On a typical Friday night I am
Unwinding with friends. I'm happiest cooking dinner with a small group of friends, chatting at a mellow bar, listening to music outside.
You should message me if
You're a sincere and thoughtful guy who is independent, but believes that life is infinitely improved when shared with people you love. You are intelligent, hard working and passionate about your work, but it doesn't consume you. You are connected to the world around you and and your community. You're excited to explore new parts of the city and head out for weekend in the mountains. You are reliable, but also spontaneous. You value family and friends and show this through your actions. You're opinionated, but not dogmatic.
The two of us