42 Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a country turned city girl. I've been in NYC for 14 years now, but I am still pretty connected to my upstate roots and never quite got that NYC bravado down. I am adventurous, but also pretty routine. I enjoy nights out listening to live music or hanging with friends, but like to stay at home and attempt to play my guitar on a Saturday night sometimes as well. I am a pretty positive, level headed person, have a strong commitment to family and my closest friends, and am as loyal as they come. I am not afraid to show my emotions, but I am also not quick to let you in. I don't play games, I don't like drama, I am compassionate and always willing to help folks out (kind of to a fault - I'm working on this!). I am really looking to expand my social circle here, but also looking for femme girls to date. If that might be you, get back at me.
What I’m doing with my life
I am a middle school teacher (translation - SAINT!). I am trying to go out of my comfort zone in finding new hobbies. I enjoy my work and it is super important to me, but I also am a firm believer in the balance of work and play. my 'playtime', I travel and enjoy soccer.
I’m really good at
smiling, listening, feeling, organizing, debating, joking, laughing.
The first things people usually notice about me
I think my eyes, but recently I have been told my lips. What do you think? My hair can also be a top choice. It's usually how my friends find me in a crowd :)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books...The Life of Pi, Middlesex, Stone Butch Blues, Zami, Reading Lolita in Tehran, trans liberation, Ummm...Harry Potter!!

Films?! Kind of depends on my mood. I don't mind most, but tend to stay away from the ultra sci-FI or horror films. I prefer documentaries or indie films.

TV: I have started watching shows on hulu plus (I don't have a tv) so I am now a fan of Downton Abbey, Grey's Anatomy, Law And Order SVU, Chicago Fire and Modern Family. All great distractions!

Music: The Lumineers, Hunter Valentine, Vampire Weekend, Tegan and Sara, Phoenix, The Butchies, Dar Williams, Adele, Dirty Projectors, Pearl and the Beard, Florence and the Machine, MGMT, Arcade Fire, Girlyman...but then I swing to the other side of the music spectrum and like Drake, Jay Z, Usher, Lil Wayne, Beyonce, GAGA! Then there is Broadway! I love musicals! It all depends on my mood. I love going to shows, whether it be theatre or live music, and will pretty much go to any genre once!
The six things I could never do without
my family, a soccer ball, my laptop, a water bottle, Broadway, sushi!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
traveling, my lesson plans, dark chocolate, my kitties and their daily antics, how to stretch the day out so I can actually do everything I need to do, how to do less but still feel accomplished...
On a typical Friday night I am
Relaxing with friends at a nearby Irish pub, drinking whiskey and listening to live music, grading papers so that Saturday and Sunday can be free of work or visiting with my family.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I hit the snooze button. A LOT.
You should message me if
you're interested! I am up for friendship or dating. If you are generally positive and would like to get a coffee sometime, hit me up!