47Hackney, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I moved back to London a few months ago, after a few years being something of a nomad - living in London, Durham, Edinburgh, Canterbury, Folkestone, Gloucestershire, Cambridge and Haywards Heath. I'm growing tired of all of this moving around though and I'm looking to put down some roots again. Originally a Yorkshireman, but my accent has been diluted over the years to the extent that I've occasionally been called 'posh', something I can't quite get used to & which I still find a little bit horrifying. Admittedly though, I do know a few big words and I can usually manage to string them together to make coherent sentences, so maybe that's how it happened.

I'm 45 years old, with blue eyes, blond hair, all my own teeth, etc. I have a degree in maths & I work as an actuary. Do I sound like a crashing bore? Hmm. Well, perhaps.

During my days at the office I seem to harbour Reginald Perrin style escapist fantasies. Office life is a strange experience. I get through it by trying to be myself as much as possible, although it's not easy. I'm usually the one in meetings who remains stony faced when everyone else laughs at the boss's dreadful jokes.

I have a very modest lifestyle. I'm not really one for glamour or the high life. Champagne is very nice, but tea is better. Milk and no sugar please. Swanky cocktail bars no, friendly pubs yes (I don't drink very often anyway). Have eaten in plenty of expensive restaurants over the years but I'm just as happy sitting in my car with a sandwich & a cuppa, listening to radio 4, with the sound of the rain rattling on the windscreen. I don't think I'm a tightarse though - I just know what I like!

I enjoy cooking. I particularly enjoy cooking for other people, but I don't get the chance to do it very much (cue violins). On the positive side, I've never poisoned anyone with my cooking and I've never burned my kitchen down, so I guess I must be doing ok really. Cooking with chocolate (making truffles, tempering, etc.) is a recent fascination - although, ironically, I don't particularly like chocolate, so I've mostly given the stuff away to other people. I also made a batch of black pudding recently using a big bucket of fresh pigs' blood from the local abattoir. Funnily enough, that fact seems to polarise opinions about me, but that's ok...

I'm sometimes quite shy when I first meet people, but I think I'm worth sticking with because underneath I think I have a good sense of humour and can be quite charming (for a northerner). Very loving & affectionate with people I trust & care for, but it takes me a while to get there...

I have two children from my previous marriage - they live almost 300 miles away but I visit them regularly & speak to them every day. I love them very much, but two is plenty for me though - I don't want any more!

I've been single for quite a long time after being battered & bruised during a long-winded and difficult divorce. Be gentle with me! I think I have a lot to offer if I meet the right person. I'm not afraid of commitment. I'm not looking for a quick fling. I'm not a married man looking for a "bit on the side". I pretty much do what it says on the tin.

Would love to meet a warm, affectionate, kind-hearted, intelligent girl. But someone with a bit of spirit too. Someone who orders a big rare steak (with all the fat left on) for dinner & eats it with gusto, not someone who orders a green salad ("hold the dressing") and picks at it tentatively while nursing a glass of mineral water & taking the occasional small sip. A liking for offal & other nasty foods would be nice, as would an understanding of the beautiful game of cricket and the ability to tolerate my rough & ready sense of humour and my love of old skool hip hop in all its swaggering glory. Those who prefer shopping, brown rice, tofu, X Factor, God, voting Conservative, astrology or txtspk might want to look elsewhere - I don't think I'm likely to be what you are looking for!
What I’m doing with my life
Muddling along from day to day & trying to make the best of it.
I’m really good at
The first things people usually notice about me
Bad breath
Yellow teeth

(not really)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Olive oil

Old skool hip hop
German electronic music

Lost in Translation
Life is Beautiful
Schindler's List
Secrets and Lies
Six things I could never do without
Air conditioning
I spend a lot of time thinking about
On a typical Friday night I am
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I really like Steps
You should message me if
You are pretty
You are intelligent
You are good at spelling and punctuation
You like Frankie Boyle
You like The Wu Tang Clan
You like Biggie Smalls
You read Viz (especially The Drunken Bakers)
The two of us