73Hale‘iwa, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I live in Hawaii, on the North Shore of Oahu. I love, among other things, my incredible wife of 38 years, Diane, and my family, friends, new people I meet and animals. My wife travels quite a bit these days for family & business reasons, and I have the time, space and energy in my life for at least one new friend. I'm not looking to fall in love, and I'm not looking for sex; friendship will be just great, thank you!

I consider myself to be an enthusiatic student of life, and I'm very interested in such things as science, religion, spirituality, philosophy, history, the nature of consciousness, utopian communities, gardening, food, dogs, music and quite a few other things. I'm also a writer, and I'm working on several books, including a novel.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm working on several books. I'm involved with developing a piece of property on the North Shore. I've got about 20 avocado trees and quite a few other fruit trees growing on our property. I'm involved with an all-volunteer charity that provides food to the needy in our area 52 weeks of the year.
I’m really good at
being myself
The first things people usually notice about me
I hope most people recognize that I'm enthusiastic about life, and I'm friendly. They also might recognize that I'm good at putting attention on them, and I have a sense of humor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: There are so many genres and artists I like. They include Bob Marley, Merle Haggard, Aretha, Sam Cooke, Steve Earle, Mozart, Ry Cooder, Patsy Cline, EmmyLou Harris, Muddy Waters, John Lee Hooker, Jimmy Buffett, Brudda Iz, Toots & the Maytals and many others.

Movies: The Shawshank Redemption, Godfather 1 & 2, Rounders, The Americanization of Emily, Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (& other Frank Capra movies) and many others.

TV: I'm currently in love with a 12 hour series on the History Channel called "Mankind: The Story of All of Us." I watch a lot of things about history, science, food, sports and other subjects, but I also have a certain appetite for trash TV. I like shows like Shark Tank, Big Bang Theory, Hawaii 5-0, Revenge, Homeland, etc.
Six things I could never do without
1-Love: I cannot find anything more interesting, wonderful, exciting or powerful than love.
2-Friends: I really do like people
3-Music: I have pretty eclectic tastes
4-Food: I'm particularly fond of avocadoes. We have about 20 avo trees growing on our property. I eat guacamole as often as possible.
5-Dogs: I'm an animal lover, but dogs really are man's best friend! I am currently being a puppy-nanny for an 8 month-old yellow lab named ZuZu. She's a gorgeous dog and a real handful!
6-TV/Computers: I sleep with the TV on.
(Sorry...Okay, I'm not really sorry...but I don't want to limit my choices to just 6.)
10-Acts of kindness
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how to be a better human being and how to make the world a better place.
On a typical Friday night I am
watching TV. I like Shark Tank, Bill Maher (when he's on), 20/20, etc.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Since 1972, I've been involved in an experimental lifestyle/intentional community. Although, over the years, some people have thought we're a cult, we're not. We are a group of people living together because we like living that way. We've found that living with people you like and love is a great way to go through life.
You should message me if
you feel like it. I'm very happily married, and I'm not looking to fool around. I do like meeting people and making new friends. By me, if I make 1 new friend out of this experience, I'm way ahead of the game. I'm interested in many subjects and willing to discuss almost anything.

I'm a good friend and a very good person for such activities as enjoying a meal together (I'm a good cook), watching movies, enjoying the beauty of nature, etc.
The two of us