1BilliamDollars
26 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
1BilliamDollars
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Howdy! Officially, my name is William, but pretty much everybody I know calls me one variation or another. Bill, Willy, Billiam, Billy, whatever! I answer to them all, so feel free.
I've got a pair of cats: Thomas O'Malley, age 16 (and he's been with me for all 16 of those years), and Thunderpaws, age 9. She's a foster kitty I adopted, and that was seriously her original name! I quickly learned that was her name for a reason. (That girl is feisty!)

Well, I suppose this is a self summary on okcupid, not a cat summary on feline-match.com, so...

I'm fairly stubborn, and inquisitive, which is a combination that got me into trouble a lot as a kid. I used to take my dad's tools and take apart my toys. If it had screws on it, I tried taking it apart. Eventually they bought me LEGO blocks and fewer things got disassembled.
I take fewer things apart as an adult, but I still like learning how things work.
It shouldn't be surprising, then, that I grew up admiring (and still admire to this day) Carl Sagan, Bill Nye, Christopher Hitchens, Neil DeGrasse Tyson, and Richard Dawkins.

That should give you a pretty good idea, yeah?
What I’m doing with my life
Currently, I'm working full time retail. Nights and weekends, unfortunately.
Thankfully, I got a department I am passionate about - electronics!
I don't care much for talking about work, though, so onto the rest of my ongoing life:

Studying by myself. College is expensive, and knowledge is literally free on the Internet, so... I'm learning as much as I can now, and saving up money for the next step in a year or two: go to university in a country with a better education system. That is, one that doesn't try to cripple you with debt for the rest of your life.
I think I'd like to pursue a lifelong career in a STEM field.

I've been working on living a more healthy lifestyle. I gave up smoking cigarettes and started jogging (I did my first ever 5k in October!) I cut back on unhealthy food, and started cooking a lot of my own meals.
Oh, I definitely still indulge from time to time. I'm a sucker for pizza.
I’m really good at
Being handy. I take a lot of satisfaction from being able to fix things around the house myself, and absolutely love building things, using tools, getting my hands dirty...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Nope! You're gonna have to learn these things about me the hard way! Psychological and physical torture!
Or we could just converse about our favorite things, that's cool, too.

Very short summaries (teasers?)
Books: absolutely!
Movies: on occasion.
Shows: not much of a TV guy.
Music: metal, mostly 🤘
Food: are you gonna finish that?
The six things I could never do without
Alone time. I'm a pretty serious introvert, so interacting with people, especially crowds, physically and mentally exhausts me. I need time by myself to recharge. I do like people, and spending time with them, but it just wears me out.

Something to do. I always need something to occupy myself, my hands, my mind... I have a hard time sitting still unless I'm engrossed in something. I'll squirm and fidget... Can you guess who was diagnosed with ADHD about a decade ago? 🙃

That's pretty much it... I might get clever and think of four other things some day, or I might forget entirely!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Philosophy, ethics, science, technology, space, time, human nature...
Oh, to imagine the paradise we could live in if people could learn to stop being shitty to each other.

I hate politics 100% but admit it's important, so I (grudgingly) think about that, too.
On a typical Friday night I am
Ah jeez. This is a hard one to answer. I don't like to do the same thing all the time, I get bored if I fall into a routine.
More