bmg42967
49 Astoria, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
bmg42967
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm on here for dating and looking for age appropriate, local, available guys. I really like the questions on this site, and sometimes visit a profile so I can answer questions I haven't so far. I don't, though, like ones where only yes or no is an answer--guess I'm getting grayer with age in more ways than just the hair on my head. Haven't quite figured out the percentage-match though.

Things about me:
* I have a good sense of humor and tend to employ it in most situations.
* I'm both reserved and chatty. Go figure. I don't know how to explain it. And I tend to say what I'm thinking, whether it's wise to or not.
* I don't like arguing or confrontation. I like to keep things light, smooth, and have everyone get along.
* I'm very self-sufficient and happy with my own company. I am single because while I WANT a man in my life, I don't NEED a man in my life. I value time alone and can always find ways to fill up my free time.
* I'm somewhere between an optimist and a realist. In my heart, I always feel that things are going to turn out right. In my head, I know I ought to know better.
* I love books and have an extensive library, so hard to imagine we're a match if you don't enjoy reading. Bonus points, though, if you're a fellow comic book fan.
* I don't like crowds or being amid lots of people I don't know. But when I have to, I can get out there and work a room.
* Not big on technology. Also a "slow news" guy: I'd rather read a thoughtful, comprehensive piece about an event the next day in the New York Times than get constant tweets about it as it happens.
What I’m doing with my life
I have worked in book publishing for almost two decades and now I'm considering a career shift. Not entirely sure what the next move is, but I quit my job in October and have not had a bad day since. Every day has been a gift, and enjoying a break to figure out what I really want out of life. I spend a lot of time now volunteering.
I’m really good at
writing, mentoring, ken-ken puzzles, cooking, organizing, planning ... lately been learning I'm kind of a decent caretaker, and I'm becoming more interested in helping others reach their potential
The first things people usually notice about me
Well, gotta go with the hair on. I mean, if I wear a hat in winter friends will walk by without recognizing me.

I'm told my eyes, smile, and laugh--but then again, that could be from people who've realized that flattery gets you everywhere with me ;-)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: I love my 80s, especially New Wave. I have all kinds of music from rock to jazz.

Books: I love both a good story and great information, so I read both fiction and nonfiction. I like history, science, social science. I'm usually in the middle of several books at any given time, though it may take weeks or months to finish them. (I'm a slow reader.) I've been building a good library of fine editions for almost 20 years now. I'm also big on comic books with an extensive collection.

Movies: You can pretty much bet I'll be there for almost every super hero movie made. I'll take comedy, sci fi, horror, or special effects-laden fare over Oscar-whoring stuff on the big screen: I'll wait for the little screen for drama. Favorite movie of all time is E.T.

Food: I love food--I live to eat, not eat to live. I will try eating almost anything once, and a dish I've never had before tends to leap off the menu for me. I like to cook--and if you love to do dishes, you've checked off something on my husband list. I can enjoy a nice date at any restaurant, though my favorite cuisines are Japanese, Thai, and Italian.
The six things I could never do without
I love comfort, and anyone who has seen my apartment will know that I could never narrow down to six essential items. I'm a long way from ever appearing on Hoarders, but let's just say the idea of doing without comforts is not appealing.

And if things include family, friends, my cat ... yeah, no short list is forthcoming.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The to-do list. Even on days off, when I wake up I have to have a plan of action for the day and lists of things to accomplish. And there's always plenty to do.

But if it's a low-energy day, daydreaming is always an option, too.
On a typical Friday night I am
I have no typical Friday night. When working, I'm too tired from being around people all week to want to go out. Right now I'm between jobs, so Friday is just another night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I admit nothing. You want private information, you have to earn it.

But in terms of what you probably really want to know, in a game of catch I prefer to pitch.
You should message me if
If we have a lot in common; my quirks, values, tastes interest you; if you're unattached and open to dating
More