52 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a painter/artist. This is my obsession and can't seem to shake it (nor do I want to). Aside from a brief period in my childhood when my family lived in Idaho, I mostly grew up in the Midwest. After my Graduate stint at an Ivy-league school, I followed the friends I made there to New York City and have lived here ever since. We are still very close and see each other when our busy lives permit it. Dinner gatherings, the occasional poker night, visiting each other studios. They sustain me and are the best part of living here and I would not trade them for anything in the world.

I love to travel and have been to Europe a number of times, Berlin mostly. It is one of my favorite cities and if my life ever permits it, I would seriously like to spend more time there. My trips have been "work" related going to these places for exhibitions.
In September of 2012, I was included in a group exhibition at a private museum in Beijing and went there with a few friends who were also in the show. Beijing is not the most picturesque place in the world, but had some amazing experiences there.
I am scheduled for another show there in December.

Since 2011, I have been picked up by a gallery in the Lower East Side and am currently working on my second exhibition with them, which is slated for this May.
What I’m doing with my life
Since this summer, I was let go from my full-time occupation as an art handler/trucker and have been doing mostly freelance work here and there. This lifestyle can be a bit stressful not knowing when I will be working next, but it has freed up my time, so that I can put more of an effort to my studio practice and career. This is what I enjoy doing the most. Like most artists here, I have been carving out a career in this field.

This past fall, I was commissioned by a friend to paint a mural (20' x 40') on a brick wall in the backyard of his newly established specialty food shop in the Fort Greene/Clinton Hill neighborhood of Brooklyn.
I had never worked on that large of scale before and it took me considerably longer than the 10 days that I had thought it would take. All said and done, I probably made less than minimum wage, but found the challenge to be truly gratifying. Just me and my sturdy extension ladder.
However, anytime I stop by his store he gives me a care package of spectacular eats.
I’m really good at
Drawing. It's what I love to do and have been doing since I was about 2 years old.
I am very good with my hands and love to tinker and problem-solve with things on a physical level. In college, I bought red British convertible for $900. It needed a great deal of TLC and I was able to tear apart the engine and put it back together. Hearing the engine turn over and run felt like magic.

I'm not sure if this is something that I should adverstise as a talent, but I can break in half an oreo cookie, scrape off the icing and put the two halves back together without breaking the cookie....all while in my mouth. Not a very attractive or sexy feat!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
books: The Good Terrorist (Doris Lessing), The Book of Laughter and Forgetting (Milan Kundera), De Kooning (Bio), The Richardson bios of Picasso (I have 3 under my belt)
movies: The Celebration(a wonderful dogma film), Goodfellas, Another Year, Don't Look Now, The Graduate, The Royal Tennenbaums(and other Wes Anderson movies),Barcelona,Blade Runner,Blue Velvet
music: Talking Heads,They Might Be Giants,The Pixies,The Magnetic Fields,Tom Waits,Blondie,The Clash,Beck
food: I am open to anything, Middle eastern, Thai, Chinese, Japanese, Italian, Mexican, etc. Although I am not a vegetarian, at he same time I am not huge carnivore.
The six things I could never do without
the radio -esp. NPR/This American Life/BBC/WNYE in the morning
my studio, which is my solace
my bike
family and friends, which is a given.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My artwork. Also, politics and world events. I like to keep current on things outside of my sphere. It helps put my life in perspective.
On a typical Friday night I am
Sometimes at the studio, the occasional art opening, dinner parties,
hanging out with friends