bonne_vivante1
29 Chicago, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
bonne_vivante1
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Blunt but warm-hearted Wisconsin native. I'm proud to still live close to some of the best damn cheese and beer around, but I have pretty itchy feet, in the travel sense.
Places I've visited recently: Mexico, Israel, Jordan, Mongolia, Burning Man. I reallllly like to travel. Maybe you do, too?

Not looking for someone to give my life meaning, but I am at a point where I'd rather find something meaningful (in due time) and prefer to be around people with some depth. If you value learning, care about the world around you, aren't afraid to talk about the heavy stuff but don't always take yourself too seriously, we'll probably have some stuff in common.
What I’m doing with my life
Working a big girl job I don't love that pays for the things I do. Work keeps me on the road a lot, but I make time for the people and things that matter. (I also haven't really worked a full year at a go for a while, which helps balance things out).

In the city, I like doing the usual stuff-- catching a live music performance or a play, (bad) dancing, hanging with my friends over an extended brunch or simply strolling or biking around if the weather is halfway decent.
I’m really good at
Growing tomatoes.
The first things people usually notice about me
Hmmm... I have a largeish nose? I look Eastern European? Around Chicagoland, that means I am judged swiftly and surely for my terrible Polish pronunciation.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'm a big fiction reader; trying to branch out into non-fiction (but not succeeding terribly well, unless the New Yorker or Aziz Ansari's book count). Some favorite authors are Jose Saramago, Zadie Smith and Haruki Murakami.

I follow but am endlessly frustrated by Game of Thrones, enjoyed Master of None and am sometimes guilty of binge watching questionable stuff, though I draw the line at reality tv.

I listen to a lot of indie music but am not on the bleeding edge by a long shot. I have a soft spot for top 40 that's danceable. Lately Metric, K'naan, TV on the Radio and Sigur Ros have been in heavy rotation.

My favorite cuisines are Thai, Indian, Mexican and Georgian- spicy, veg friendly=yes!
The six things I could never do without
Caffeine, books, a valid passport, sunshine, good beer and good company.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where the coffee/tea is. Travel plans. Social justice. Why my attention span is shrinking. What I would change about Chicago if I was urban planner in chief and had some serious money and power.
On a typical Friday night I am
I usually have Fridays mostly off, so Thursdays are the start to my weekend. Going out three days in a row is proving to be more of a challenge than it used to be, so sometimes I just curl up with a book or some Netflix and a drink. But often there's just too much fun going on to not at least sample some of it.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I was teaching English in Spain a few years ago, one of my first graders drew a picture of me with the caption "I am the tallest man". I'm still not sure what to make of that.
You should message me if
Bonus points if any of the below apply. Otherwise, if you want to grab drinks, check out a show or get up to some urban hijinks.
- You have travel advice on Iceland, Sri Lanka or Nepal
- You have a cat, dog or pygmy hedgehog you don't mind sharing
- Your book club has an opening (my last one kicked me out)
- You can help me learn how to snowboard or surf without falling so damn much
More