31Tucson, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My name is Benjamin. I was born and raised in San Diego, right up until I finished my undergraduate studies. I moved to Tucson in 2008 for graduate school. I enjoy watching and playing sports-my favorite sports are baseball, hockey, tennis and football. I also enjoy the outdoors, in particular hiking and skiing.
What I’m doing with my life
I am a Ph. D student in Biostatistics in the College of Public Health at the University of Arizona. I am also a Christian and I am passionate about the environment.
I’m really good at
...Trying to get better at my hobbies. I play softball and I want to get back into playing hockey (I played roller hockey for seven years when I was younger). I also did Quiz Bowl in high school and for two years as an undergraduate. I've also been told I have a good singing voice.
The first things people usually notice about me
I tend to be shy at first, but as I get to know people better I open up more. At the risk of sounding chauvinistic, people seem to notice how deep my voice is.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorite books are the Chronicles of Narnia series, Angels and Demons, The Da Vinci Code, and The Lost Symbol. I also want to read the Lord of The Rings books. I want to read the writings of Shane Claiborne and Jim Wallis

Most of my favorite movies are comedies. Adam Sandler movies are my favorites, but I also like the Major League movies, The Replacements, and The Terminal.

Again, when it comes to TV shows, most of my favorites are comedies. My favorites are The Simpsons (I much prefer the older episodes-when Maude died was kind of the
"Jump The Shark" moment), Family Guy, Home Improvement, Jeopardy, Survivor, and I also enjoy watching the Food Network.

I listen to most all types of music, depending on what kind of mood I'm in, but my favorite artists are U2, Switchfoot, Jimmy Eat World, and Yellowcard.

I like most all types of food, except I am a partial vegetarian, as I don't eat meat except for poultry and seafood.
Six things I could never do without
my glasses; high-quality H2O; my faith in God; family; friends; music and my iPod
I spend a lot of time thinking about
-My faith and trying to do be a better Christian. In particular, I spend a lot of time thinking about ways to bring more social and environmental justice to the world. I spend a lot of time reconciling my Christian faith and my liberal political beliefs, as public opinion often finds these two things to be contradictory.
-On a less serious note, I also enjoy trivia (as I mentioned above, Jeopardy is one of my favorite shows).
-Also, I spend a lot of time thinking about what people really mean when they use the word "random"; it seems like a word that's commonly misused
-Since I love to travel, when and to where my next exciting travel adventure will be
On a typical Friday night I am
relaxing at home playing video games and/or listening to music, but I also enjoy hanging out with friends.
Though as a graduate student I spend a large chunk of my time studying, I generally like Friday nights to be the one night of the week where I don't do any studying.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
There are a couple things that comes to mind. If we strike up a conversation I might reveal some of them.
You should message me if
-are Christian
-would like to get to know me better
-would like to do something fun like go on a hike, or attend a sporting event or concert
-usually use good grammar
The two of us