51Bellingham, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi everybody! Chronologically approaching 42, but feeling like 25. East coast born but been in the West since 1987. Military vet, but not militaristic. I'm dad to three terrific boys (what parent would say otherwise, eh?). Got a great job that I love and believe in. I love trying new things, learning; I really want to learn how to work metal right now. I've been without TV since 2005; I still watch movies and tv shows from netflix though. I love to laugh. I find almost anything interesting and find the art in it. I'm a trained professional, but have built and remodeled a multitude of houses and not hesitant to tackle most any project. I value labor and craft. I like being in places with lots of happy people. It gives me a physical rush. Dogs and kids love me. If I could live anywhere else in the US it would be Portland, OR, because its full of people who know how to get things done.

I am tenacious, humanist, and fun loving
What I’m doing with my life
Right now, I spend as much time with my kids as I can. Their mom and I don't live together, and I'm devoted to being the best parent I can. But when they aren't with me, I ride my bike, work on whatever woodworking project I have going, take pictures. I love to hike and am going white water rafting for the first time this summer. I just finished coaching little league baseball for the third year (we were 12-2-2, good season). When the weather turns crappy, I start Taekwondo, search for new things to cook.
I’m really good at
Cooking meals for large groups=Solving problems=Seeing a complex, multi year project to completion=Loving people=Making paper airplanes=Speaking in public=Planning a trip=Gutting it out=Seeing the future
The first things people usually notice about me
I've been told I have a presence. I hope that doesn't mean intimidating. I'm 5'11" and large framed (I wear a size 50 sport coat if that means anything to you), but am not pudgy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The Norton Anthology of English Literature, any dictionary, most anything by Cormac McCarthy, Phillip Roth, Margaret Atwood, and Naomi Klien.
Movies: Anything Coen Brothers (O Brother Where Art Thou, I believe is the most underrated movie ever), scifi for its ability to make social commentary in a palatable context, documentaries that show me something new.
Music: anything live or from New Orleans. Really, country, classical, punk, bluegrass, West African, Japanese, Eastern European, I can find something to like in it as long as its done well.
Food: I grew up in the South, so anything deep fried. But really love anything local: local veggies, seafood, eggs, cheese, if its from here it tastes better to me. I do indulge in decadent recipes at times (coq au vin, thick steaks, homemade coconut cake or peach pie, yum). Since I leave it so wide open, my definite no's are cooked onions or stewed peppers.
Six things I could never do without
*My three sons (are they things? sometimes)
*My mom and dad (these are definitely people)
*My leatherman
*Fresh air
*Clean water
*Good spirits
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My sons, my job, my house, my country, locavorism, my chickens, cute girls...
On a typical Friday night I am
No such thing....
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I want to be in love again.
You should message me if
You want to meet an interesting person that can make you laugh and take the good with the bad.
The two of us