browser5601
35 San Francisco, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
browser5601
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Originally from Scotland, I moved to San Francisco nearly five years ago after living in London town. California feels like home now.

I am an active and gregarious person, and I am enjoying everything that the Bay Area has to offer - its such an amazing and breathtakingly beautiful place to be. My friends and family are incredibly important to me and I am lucky to have a very wonderful tribe (here and overseas) who make me smile every day :) An open-hearted type, nothing makes me happier than the kind of emotional bond that enables complete vulnerability and complete silliness all at once.

I love to travel and have been fortunate enough to visit some amazing places. I also love trying new hobbies/sports and try to shake things up when I can.

I'm definitely an incurable romantic, so dating stateside has been a bit of a culture shock. But, I do try to have a sense of humor about it all. This guy sums it up perfectly: http://teamcoco.com/video/aziz-ansari-texting-dating
What I’m doing with my life
Working...for a non profit that helps people into work using social enterprise, and I've spent my career working in international development, public health and human rights.

Traveling...as often as I can to new places. Favorites so far have been India, Namibia and Tanzania.

Playing...I love writing, playing guitar, dance, surfing, swimming (total water baby) and snowboarding.

Learning..This is a biggie for me. I get very restless if I am not learning about something new at any given time - be it science, art, languages, health, philosophy, etc.
I’m really good at
Geeking out on science or sci fi, cooking (it's either really good or catastrophic, there's no middle ground), classical guitar, camping, practical jokes and spotting your celebrity doppelgänger.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile, and my Scottish accent. That they are SURE they have met me before (they haven't, I'm an identical twin).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: anything by Jane Austen or Paulo Coelho. Tao te Ching, The Marriages between Zones Three, Four and Five, Breakfast at Tiffany's, Romeo and Juliet, The Tempest, His Dark Materials, The Bartimeus Trilogy, Lolita, The Woodlanders, Wuthering Heights. I also love reading the works of geniuses like Stephen Hawking and Michio Kaku, and trying to wrap my head around their mind blowingly smart ideas.
Movies: Matrix trilogy, Star Wars, Legend, Spiderman, Pan's Labyrinth, Resident Evil series, Bladerunner, Sucker Punch, Transformers, The Amazing Spiderman, Supergirl, Elektra, Water for Elephants, Blade, Anchorman, Napoleon Dynamite, Watchmen, Life or Something Like It, The Story of the Weeping Camel (beautiful), Her.
Music: Aerosmith, Ash, Heather Nova, Caitlyn Smith, Eva Cassidy, Paulo Nutini, Muse, Jose Gonzalez, Billie Holiday, Nina Simone, Jimi Hendrix, Killers, Kanye West, Tupac, Gyptian, Katy Perry, Kylie, Scouting for Girls, Bruno Mars. I'm also a classical music lover - it feeds my soul :)
The six things I could never do without
Family, friends, music, dogs, the outdoors (especially the ocean), and amazing food.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global injustice, the way we treat animals and the planet, the meaning of life, cosmology, my next hobby, becoming a superhero.
On a typical Friday night I am
Chilling with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am a level 9 night elf.
You should message me if
You are fun, kind, honest, respectful and you love women (I'm talking to the feminists rather than the lotharios!). Whilst I would ultimately love to meet my partner in crime, dating is a pretty fun journey so I remain open to all the possibilities.
More