34Ann Arbor, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Currently living in Ann Arbor working as an assistant professor at the University of Michigan. I'm from Wisconsin originally, and lived in New Mexico for five years before coming here. I really enjoy the outdoors and enjoy hiking, backpacking, and camping trips -- these days work keeps me busy so I don't get out as much as I'd like. I also like running, cooking, board games and going out to microbrews. I enjoy travel and get to do a bit of it for work. I really like animals even though me being gone a lot makes owning one impractical. I also try to live a healthy and active lifestyle. I've been described as ambitious, and I look for ways to make positive differences in the world.

I'm hoping to meet someone that shares my love of the outdoors, can have intellectual conversations, dares to dream, and lives a similar active lifestyle that encourages me to not focus so much on academic life.
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to balance work and fun. For work I get to make a difference in my little corner of the world, which is rewarding. Otherwise, I enjoy being outside and spending time with friends.
I’m really good at
You should really ask the people who know me. I can hardly give an unbiased answer to that question.
The first things people usually notice about me
I've been told I stand out in a crowd. Personality-wise, I would say it is my wit. I am sarcastic by nature, and some people either love it or it rubs them the wrong way.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Lately, I've been reading fictional work in the fantasy genre. Occasionally I'll pick something up more cerebral, such as Guns, Germs, and Steel.

Movies: I like ones that make me think. I like dramas and comedies. One type of movie I really dislike are horror films. To be honest, I do not see that many movies. While I do not mind it, I usually do not take the initiative on my own to watch them.

Music: Classic rock, hard rock, alternative, and jazz. Honestly, it really depends on the specific song, and what I like comes in phases.

Food: I tend to be experimental with my cooking when I have time. My favorite types of foods are Mexican, Indian, Thai, and Italian. I also like to try vegetarian things, even though I am not a vegetarian. I like cooking for my friends.
Six things I could never do without
The Outdoors
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Friends back home. My next hiking trip. How I can make a difference in the world.
On a typical Friday night I am
It varies. Out with friends or relaxing. I work a lot during the week, so my Friday evening is my time to get away from the office.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't really watch TV and I am embarrassingly behind in watching movies, but I'm trying to get better.
You should message me if
You are looking to meet someone and are in your late 20's to 30's. I also really want someone who has an outdoorsy spirit and lives a healthy and active lifestyle. Those sorts of activities are important to me and I want to share that part of my life.
The two of us