37 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Living in and loving Brooklyn. Love my work, but I love to get away whenever possible.

I prefer dogs to cats, but I get along famously with either (just need a little benadryl around the cats).

I will try anything twice.

I like soup at all times of the year. And hot coffee.
What I’m doing with my life
For work? I rig and run automation (motor driven scenery) for broadway musicals. For fun? I read, play with dogs, ride motorcycles, wander aimlessly, travel, hike, climb, play pool, darts, many others forthcoming.

I love my job. I work with a bunch of people who also love their job. It's nice. I work a fairly odd schedule...depending on what phase of a project I am on, I will either be working 4 hours a day or 14. It makes meeting people with "normal" schedules fairly difficult.
I’m really good at
Math, science, music (piano mostly)
The first things people usually notice about me
My beard or lack thereof. Also, I am tall.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Vonnegut, Salinger, Murakami, Bukowski, Hemmingway, Orwell, Updike, Christopher Moore. for the most part, i like contemporary classics...though i'll read anything people recommend. also, i sometimes judge books by their covers. literally. currently trying to finish all of the Vonnegut and Murakami books that I haven't read yet. just found out today that there's a new murakami as of last december that i haven't read. that's next on the list i guess.

Movies: spaceballs!, snatch, bond, drop dead gorgeous, any superhero movie, zombieland, memento, the big lebowski...egh, not a big movie person i think.

Shows: game of thrones, breaking bad, madmen, friends, how i met your mother, archer, south park, golden girls, lost, downton abbey, 30 rock, arrested development, mythbusters, the food networks. just started west wing.

Music: alt-j, ratatat, massive attack, portishead, radiohead, band of horses, bon iver, new pornographers, white stripes, nirvana, beach house, arcade fire, sigur ros, phoenix, rilo kiley (and other jenny lewis stuff), vampire weekend, black keys, etc. i'm particularly interested in talking music with people...i love exploring new music. if you have similar music tastes and mention a band i haven't heard, i'll probably buy their album. i also have probably not heard of that new band you like. play it for me, though.

Food: soup, mexican, indian, thai. pretty much everything. bagelsmith is pretty good.
The six things I could never do without
1) some form of a musical instrument...preferably a piano or guitar, but i'd take anything with keys or strings i guess. or an grandfather had a polka band and i've always thought it would be awesome to play the accordion.
2) good fiction
3) sunglasses
4) dogs
5) coffee
6) new travels and adventures
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The little differences in other parts of the world. Mostly little things like driving on the left side and why can't i get a decent cup of coffee in australia? Travel will do that I guess.
On a typical Friday night I am
I work evenings mostly and my day off is Thursday, so Friday is just another day. Probably getting out of work around eleven and heading back to Brooklyn for beers or something with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I can perform complicated mathematical calculations in my head, but have to sing the entire alphabet song to figure out which letter comes next.
You should message me if
I used to have a bunch of stuff listed here but it all seemed too superficial. So, if you're interested, just go for it.

I wrote that some time ago and I still stand by it. In the end, it doesn't really matter what we write to each other. It's kind of just an icebreaker. If I like you, you could say "blah blah blah" and I'd probably write back.

I feel obliged to mention again that I work odd hours...evenings and weekends mostly. In the long run, a 9-5er would not be impossible to date, but it sure makes the initial meet up phase difficult to schedule. If you're available for lunch dates and late evening dates, it seems to be easier to figure out.