75Chicago, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am single with no baggage. No kids, no family, no ex-wives calling, just a few ladies who are just friends, and Hannah the Wonder Cat. I am not afraid to hand over the reins to a woman. I look for someone who knows what she wants, and is not afraid to ask for it. I am very intelligent and enjoy someone else who is as well. I have been in relationships in the recent past and was married twice. I have been divorced since 1992.

I am a pragmatic liberal Democrat. I spent 25 years in politics in various roles so I am a bit cynical, but, small flames of idealism are popping up in the ashes of my political past. If you support Donald Trump for President, do not contact me.

I believe that friendship is fine as far as it goes, and I have many "friends" who are female. I seek more, however. than friendship or a pleasant evening at the movie or CSO. At my age, time is an important consideration. I realize friendship comes first, but hope things will move along.

I hope that I am one of the more interesting people you might meet. I have been to 43 countries, am a Certified Chicago tour guide, lived on a sailboat, been a lobbyist in Wisconsin, got my Masters (History) 15 years ago from the University of Chicago, and have a TESL certificate. I have worked for the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and have a great sense of humor in a rather strange, offbeat way. I am in good health, and am active including sailing, camping, leisurely biking, scuba diving, and would enjoy someone to maybe do some of those things with. Watching Downton Abbey together would be nice too.

I am a culture vulture. I love movies, ethnic dining, cooking at home, the Met Opera in HD, MPark concerts. I usually see at least two or three movies a week. I am a Sox fan but could possibly accept a mixed relationship (a Cubs fan). Viewing sports is OK but not at the top of my to do list.

I am more into experiences than things. I am not rich, but I am not poor. I can carry my own weight financially and hope that you can as well. If you are looking for someone to support you, please look elsewhere. I plan to take more time now to smell the roses with my best friend. You?

There is one caveat. I will not live in the suburbs. I live two blocks from the Lake and the Red Line. I have a car but use public transit and am not crazy about long trips out to the suburbs. Evanston is about as far afield as I am interested in going. I am a city mouse. I love Chicago, BUT, I should add that, if I find the right partner, relocation is possible anywhere except the 'burbs. Paris? Puerto Vallarta? Spending time anywhere warm in the winter is fine too.
What I’m doing with my life
I am working hard at arranging things so that I can be with a partner who likes to travel and enjoy life. I am taking some online courses and may enroll in OLLI at Northwestern.
I’m really good at
Relating. I am Zelig-like in that I can quickly adapt to situations and people. I have rapport with those I meet and like to hear everybody's story. I am good at cooking, talking, observing, traveling, listening, and being self deprecating. You may not think so from reading all this, but I laugh at my own clueless nature more often than not.
The first things people usually notice about me
Short, balding, a bit too bubbly, a good story teller, deferential to and appreciative of a strong woman.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Non Fiction. History, Cookbooks, Science fiction, and the occasional Biography. I have about seven bookcases filled with books and had to buy a Kindle just so I had some room left.
Movies: Good ones, classics, I try to see all of the Oscar nominees before the nominations come out. If I haven't, I try to catch up before the Oscar ceremonies. I like the occasional piece of trash as well.
Shows: Small theaters, Looking Glass, Shakespeare on Navy Pier. I have become a Saint (volunteer usher). I also like to get Rush tickets to the occasional Broadway in Chicago show.
Music: Classical. I love the MPark Concerts and go to Ravania when the CSO is there. I enjoy the Met in HD, and the Old Town School in Lincoln Square. I do have an open mind about most other kinds of music except rap.
Food: Almost anything. I have no food allergies, have eaten things I shouldn't have in lots of different parts of the world, and find lots of reasonably priced restaurants all over Chicago. I am not crazy about spinach and fish. Love shellfish though.
Six things I could never do without
My honesty, my friends, my sanity, my health, love, You?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The future, and spending it with someone I care about.
On a typical Friday night I am
At a concert, movie, out with a friend, or at home watching Downton Abbey, America's Test Kitchen, or Charlie Rose.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Last year, I didn't take down my Christmas tree in time to get it recycled.
You should message me if
if you are ultimately looking for more than just friendship or an "activity buddy".
The two of us