33New Haven, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Location update: I currently live in Farmington, but I'm working in and will soon be living in New Haven.

"She loves to laugh, she loves to sing..." - Haha, I may have seen Journey in concert recently so that was fresh in my mind. Speaking of which, I adore going to concerts and I have a super eclectic taste in music! Almost nothing beats an awesome outdoor show on a beautiful summer evening.

I love to hang out with my friends and family who are extremely important to me! Although I've been pretty focused on my career, I'm definitely a well rounded person. I love the outdoors especially when I am at the top of a mountain, dancing around in the snow, or relaxing by the water. I adore music - My iPod is never far from reach. Overall I'm intelligent, genuine, goofy, and thoughtful :)

I'm looking for someone who is honest, caring, a good communicator, intelligent, has a big heart, is ambitious, is funny/likes to laugh, is supportive, and can make me smile! :) Guys that like to sing along to music in the car, don't have two left feet - or will at least try to dance, likes to/can cook, take an interest in what I do (even if they don't completely understand it), and those who volunteer for organizations or charities that they believe in get extra bonus points in my book. Oh, and I recently joined a running group - So, although it's not necessary, someone who might be interested in running/training with me as well would be awesome! Don't worry, I'm not that fast... yet ;) I'm not sure what else to say here at the moment, but if you have questions, please feel free to ask them. :)

Random side notes:
- I tell far too many "that's what she said" type jokes - I also laugh at my own jokes (and other's) quite a bit.
- I tend to work too much, but I'm hoping it'll pay off very soon!
- I'm pretty liberal. I just don't think that people should have things handed to them. I have a "citizen of the world" type of a mentality.
- I cook/eat very healthy things - Just don't ask what's in it. I love farmer's markets! Oh, paleo... Ha!
- I don't have to drink a bunch to have a good time - I surround myself with people whose company I enjoy regardless of the circumstances.
- I will run in "crazy" weather (pouring rain, stupidly hot, stupidly cold, snow, etc...) but if there's one flash of lightning you get to see how fast I can really run, ha!
What I’m doing with my life
I've always loved science/health related stuff and now I'm making a career out of it! :) I've done various types of research since high school. Then in college I started doing cancer research and I absolutely loved it so I decided to obtain my PhD. I learned so much during this time and I'm hoping that my postdoctoral work will be as fruitful! It's been an incredible journey thus far and I'm very exited to make some big discoveries in treating brain cancer! :)
I’m really good at
Um... science stuff? lol! Lots of things! I'm a decent cook and I like to think that I can dance... haha! :) I'm a really good friend - I care a lot about the people in my life!
The first things people usually notice about me
- Eyes
- Almost always happy/smiling
- Caring/genuine
- Sarcasm/sense of humor
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: When I finally get to relax and watch a movie, I generally want to laugh... a lot. So, comedies are pretty high on the list. Um... a quick random list of favorites: Life is Beautiful, Billy Madison, Elf, Divorce Italian Style, Forrest Gump, Finding Nemo, Old School, Blazing Saddles, Stepbrothers, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, When Harry Met Sally, etc...

Shows: Rent, Chicago, Avenue Q... Oh, oh... You meant TV shows? HIMYM, The New Girl, Arrested Development, and the occasional nerdy Discovery Channel show are high up there on the list :)

Music: I have a pretty eclectic taste in music and love live shows! I'm definitely that person who enjoys flipping through random radio stations and singing along with everything. Some genres that I enjoy include Alt/rock (esp 90's tunes), classical, rap/r&b/hip-hop, pop/dance, country, jazz, oldies, etc...

Food: I tend to eat pretty healthy. I've been on a spinach salad (spinach, a ton of other veggies, raisins, balsamic... bam) kick recently. I love fresh fruit - especially when it's in season, yum! I eat a lot of soups, greek yogurt, chicken, and random recipes that I make up but seem to always come out tasting pretty gosh darn good (I'll be starring on Chopped soon, ha). That being said, I definitely still have a soft spot for things like chinese food, and frozen yogurt, haha!
Six things I could never do without
Love (hums Beatles song, haha)
Laughter/things that make me smile :)
Spending time outside - Even if I can't that much during the week, I try to at least go out for a couple of jogs or hikes on the weekends.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The wonders of the universe.
How to make the world a better place.
How to use my research to make a positive impact on people's lives!
My father passed a few months ago, so I've spent a lot of time thinking about "life" and what's really important.
On a typical Friday night I am
Working then hanging out with friends or visiting my family.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Guess you're going to have to get to know me to find this out ;)
The two of us