74Santa Barbara, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am somewhat of an extrovert with a gift for putting others at ease; but also value my inner quiet self, and am a good listener. I'm athletic, and love sports of all kinds, music, nature, the mountains and the beach. After 34 years in education I retired in June 2011 and enjoy working now in my grandsons' classrooms. (Not my test scores, not my parent conferences, not my report cards!) I still want to make a difference with kids and help them develop a positive self image. I'm lucky to have both my grown children return to Santa Barbara as adults; and my two grandsons are opening my heart to laughter and fun in a way that softens and touches me. Now I am ready to develop a relationship with a man who shares some of my passion and zest for living and for trying new things, and cares about having an inner life as well.
What I’m doing with my life
I've spent 34 years teaching and some years as an organizational consultant. I stopped teaching summer school years ago so I could do "Nana Camp"- riding bikes, swimming, etc..with Jesse and Sam, currently 11 and 8. I was raised Catholic, but I switched to being Episcopalian after my divorce, and go to a liberal Episcopalian church in town. It's a great place to be, and I am pretty involved there. "Walking the walk" of concern with social justice, helping others, improving education, nurturing the environment, etc. Living here for 40 years has given me lots of wonderful friends, some of whom have already died of cancer which has made me more grateful for every day, and more grateful for my excellent health.
I’m really good at
being a good friend and showing up. I am in good physical shape and love most sports. I swim every morning and have for years. I love playing tennis from time to time, and I love bike riding, hiking and being in the mountains, especially the redwoods, or at the ocean. I love good books and read everything from good fiction to philosophy. People really appreciate my integrity, competence and fidelity. When my children had trouble with the economic downturn in Santa Barbara, I gave them my place to live in with my grandchildren for 14 months; There is a saying "a mother is as happy as her saddest child." and I believe that to be true. I moved back as planned and part of my retirement new life was getting new furniture and throwing lots away! I also got to go to the 2011 US Open Tennis tournament in NY for a week. Some years ago I went to Wimbledon, which was so fabulous.. but a teacher can't leave the first week of September to go to New York for tennis! Both tournaments were great fun! Living a block from the beach allows me to walk or bike along a lovely and peaceful view of nature.
The first things people usually notice about me
are that I have good energy and vivid blue eyes. My smile is engaging and I'm easy to connect with. People notice that I put them at ease quickly, and show an interest in them.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I cherish reading, and often read while watching sports on "mute".! I like poetry by many different authors, as well as novels by Anne Tyler, Sue Grafton and John Grisham. Mary Oliver and Robert Frost are probably my favorite poets. Of course, teaching elementary/middle school students, I like all the Harry Potter movies and books., and just finished helping a 5th grade class read Tom Sawyer-- it is still great! I'm looking forward to more time for live music at the SB Bowl or Soho, and love classical music too. I now usher at the Granada a couple of times a month, and love being exposed to concerts I would not normally purchase a ticket for. It's great to be "expanded" through new venues. Food wise I'm a healthy eater with a weakness for good chips and salsa, vanilla yogurt, icing, and a good glass of wine. My favorite dinner is fresh salmon and Trader Joe's bag of spinach salad.
Six things I could never do without
would be my children and grandchildren, closest friends, a community where I get connected and nourished by wonderful friends, a swimming pool to swim in, and living in a healthy environment.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
lately- how to adjust to retirement, what new possibilities might come in the future, new relationships, and new ways of contributing. I'm looking for ways to laugh, play, travel and be outrageously happy!
On a typical Friday night I am
delighted to be with friends for a movie, music/concert, glass of wine, go dancing, and kick back.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
At a young age I internalized "It is better to give than receive", so I have a harder time accepting and taking in others' care of me. I'm learning I don't have to "earn" all that.
You should message me if
You think we might be a fit! or if you want to have a conversation on the phone.
The two of us