38 Clayton, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am 5 feet tall & weigh about 235 lbs currently. Also blonde now.

I'm generally laid-back and easy going. Some people think I'm quiet; it just takes me a little time to feel comfortable around people. I like hanging out at home or at the regular places with my crew but also am up for pretty much any adventure with the right people. I'm not a fussy girl but I still like to pamper myself. I like to watch sports, crime shows, real estate shows, and usually have a book I'm in the middle of.
What I’m doing with my life
I teach 7th grade English, Reading, and History. I absolutely love my job about 95% of the time (but it's not easy). After 11 years, I try not to bring work home with me but it does happen sometimes. I also work several extra jobs for the school district, so it makes for a long day. When I'm not at work, I like to relax at home and hang out with friends. I play softball and sometimes kickball, and generally let my friend drag me to the gym twice a week or so. And, I volunteer at ARF twice a month
I’m really good at
* remembering song lyrics
* going with the flow
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably my height - I'm pretty short. On a closer look I get a lot of comments about my eyes and lips.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music - all kinds, especially rock and hip hop. Not too excited about country or heavy metal, but usually willing to listen. Top three favorite groups are The Cult, Counting Crows, and Fleetwood Mac. I like going to concerts, with the right people. I like to sing along, and pick up lyrics pretty quickly, but I never mastered playing any instruments. I generally listen to 97.3 and 94.9 on the radio and like most of the songs those stations play. I know pretty much every light rock song from the 80s, and tons of rap from the mid to late 90s, and will probably surprise you by knowing most of the lyrics, if not all of them.

Books - mostly mysteries, science fiction, historical fiction, but I delve into non-fiction as well. Currently reading Year of Meteors, which is taking me FOREVER to get through but is really good (if you like in-depth history). I'm also working my way through rereading Mercedes Lackey's Valdemar series.

Movies - action-adventure, science fiction, comedy, mystery/thriller. I tend to hide my eyes during the scary parts. Oh, and I'm a sucker for a cheesy sports movie.

Food - I'm definitely not a girl that orders something and doesn't eat it. But I'm not super adventurous with food either. I don't like dealing with raw foods, so I'm not much of a chef. I have a Starbucks addiction that my Keurig has a hard time competing with. I like having regular places where the staff/owners know me and my friends. Favorite foods include pizza, chicken fajitas, tortellini, Chinese, and I've just recently started ordering a new roll at sushi with my friends, so I guess there's some hope for me?
The six things I could never do without
* my friends & family - they're pretty amazing and always there for me
* laughter
* background noise - I watch way too much tv and don't listen to nearly enough music
* my phone - addicted to various games, and of course my Kindle app
* something (good) to read
* Starbucks (It's a hard habit to break!)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
education, my job in particular. The environment, animal welfare, celebrity news, places I want to travel to, how in the world I'm supposed to "hit the ball down the third base line" (normally I just hit and don't worry about where it goes, but I also normally get out at first). Oh, and what my dogs will destroy next and how to wage a preemptive strike against them.
On a typical Friday night I am
doing a TGIF trifecta night (nails, happy hour, sushi) with friends from work or playing kickball and then hanging out with pizza & beer (and my friends complaining that I barely drink beer) or having a quiet night at home catching up with my DVR or reading a book.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I use parentheses too much. And ellipses....
You should message me if
You're interested and nearby. I've done the long-distance relationship thing in the past and I'm not interested in that again. (Sacramento is too far. San Jose is too far. Unless you're planning on driving to see me 85-90% of the time. Or you are really, really amazing.)